Problem exporting to Windows8

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:29 pm

when i compile my exported windows8 app project i am getting the following error in vs:

Could not find SDK "Microsoft.WinJS.1.0, Version=1.0".     C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\Microsoft.Common.targets     

in vs Microsoft.WinJS.1.0 has a yellow warning sign.
i tried to delete Microsoft.WinJS.1.0 add it again but the project compiles and then fails to run.

i am using vs 2012 express rc 11.0.50522
B
41
S
11
G
4
Posts: 428
Reputation: 7,356

Post » Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:32 pm

if i delete and add Microsoft.WinJS.1.0 it compiles fine, but when it runs it breaks on this line:

var app = WinJS.Application;
B
41
S
11
G
4
Posts: 428
Reputation: 7,356

Post » Tue Sep 18, 2012 1:40 pm

could it be that i need .net framework 4 and i have 4.5?

tried to install v4 but it does not let me as i have 4.5
B
41
S
11
G
4
Posts: 428
Reputation: 7,356

Post » Tue Sep 18, 2012 1:56 pm

It sounds like you're using the Release Preview or Consumer Preview. These old builds of Windows 8 aren't supported any more - you need RTM.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:13 pm

downloaded windows rtm (expired in 90 days)
and vs express 2012 and all worked 100% fine right out of the box!

i am using letterbox scaling to resize and fit all possible resolutions. seems to be working great. is there any other cropping/scaling option that i might have missed and which produces better results?

i'm really impressed in a BIG way at the integration of c2 with windows8. c2 apps play flawlessly as if they were nativebjadams2012-09-18 16:37:20
B
41
S
11
G
4
Posts: 428
Reputation: 7,356

Post » Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:38 pm

so i have 1 last question....

how can i copy my app and move it to another windows8 pc to test it there?

i have tried to search a bit, but this info seems pretty scarce right now
B
41
S
11
G
4
Posts: 428
Reputation: 7,356

Post » Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:56 am

I'm guessing you've figured this out already, but if not:
Create a package (not a store export) from your game in Visual Studio.
Once you've done that, copy the folder to your other PC.
There should be a powershell executable in the folder, so right click on it on your new pc and choose "run with powershell"
That will install it to your 'metro' desktop.
B
34
S
8
G
3
Posts: 328
Reputation: 7,692

Post » Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:17 pm

thanks a lot, did figure it out after some experimentation
B
41
S
11
G
4
Posts: 428
Reputation: 7,356


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DankP3, NetOne, Zonacas and 4 guests