Problem with "add Events" menu

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:59 pm

Hello all,

First of all, great site and great program. this was exactly what i needed when i was wanting to make my game idea's without having to learn a coding language.

On to the difficulty. I've been going through the beginner tutorials and i am trying to use the "on key pressed" event. problem is my "add Events" panel only has the "System" object and the sprites I have added, no "keyboard."

I've spent some time checking around the site and trying to figure out if that is because i am using the free one or maybe i just had a bad install but no luck yet. Any help would be appreciated.
B
5
Posts: 7
Reputation: 391

Post » Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:15 pm

Add the "Keyboard" plugin to your project.

[quote]Add the input objects

Turn your attention back to the layout. Double click to insert another new object. This time, select the Mouse object, since we'll need mouse input. Do the same again for the Keyboard object.

Note: these objects don't need placing in a layout. They are hidden, and automatically work project-wide. Now all layouts in our project can accept mouse and keyboard input.[/quote]
Page 2 of the beginner's guide
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,786

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:44 am

Ah! Thank you so much!

I wanted to make a platform game first so i did the alternative beginner tutorial and i don't think i saw anything about plugins on that one.
B
5
Posts: 7
Reputation: 391

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:51 am

I take that back, I see it now, that's what i get for rushing.

Anyway, thanks again for your help.
B
5
Posts: 7
Reputation: 391


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Draconinho, LeFuji, plinkie, totoe and 19 guests