Problem with gyroscope on Firefox OS

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:05 am

I'm making a app for Firefox OS, it's going to be a game like doodle jump. So it works great on my iPhone, iPad, and Android phone, but when I try to test it on my ZTE Open C, it won't work. It says that the gamma is constantly 0. Help please! :shock:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by nutcase84 on Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
9
S
1
Posts: 45
Reputation: 626

Post » Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:11 pm

Bump.
B
9
S
1
Posts: 45
Reputation: 626

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:06 pm

Bump again.
B
9
S
1
Posts: 45
Reputation: 626

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:38 pm

Seeing it works on android and Iphone:
If it's constantly returning 0 either the device doesn't support orientation or the app/game doesn't have the permission to acces it (could ofcourse have to do with the browser not having permission if you play in the browser)

I haven't fiddled with firefox OS myself, so it might be that the way to acces these informations works differently from other systems and the "bug" is inside the code to try and get acces..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:26 pm

Does the ZTE Open C actually come with a gyroscope? I think Firefox OS supports it, but if the device doesn't have it, then it can't report any values for it. It's a budget device so they might have cut the gyroscope as a way to lower the cost of the device.
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,433
Reputation: 194,635

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:29 pm

Yeah, according to GSMArena: ZTE Open C sensors includes just "Accelerometer"

Compared to the Nexus 5, which lists for sensors: "Accelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, barometer"

The ZTE Open C has no gyroscope!
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,433
Reputation: 194,635

Post » Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:33 pm

If it has no gyroscope then why can i tilt it sideways and the app turns with it?
B
9
S
1
Posts: 45
Reputation: 626

Post » Sat Sep 20, 2014 5:40 pm

Bump
B
9
S
1
Posts: 45
Reputation: 626

Post » Sat Sep 20, 2014 5:53 pm

Like ashley says, it has no gyroscope:

http://gadgets.ndtv.com/zte-open-c-1302 ... oto-e-1595

Bumping this thread won't solve that I'm afraid..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Sat Sep 20, 2014 6:38 pm

nutcase84 wrote:If it has no gyroscope then why can i tilt it sideways and the app turns with it?
B
9
S
1
Posts: 45
Reputation: 626

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests