Problem with motion blur.

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Jan 06, 2010 3:24 am

I am having a slight problem. I am making a side scrolling shooter, and I was implementing the camera system. I have motion blur set to x20 AND point rendering :P. Anyways, I was using the make another object and attach it to the object you want a camera on method with an offset. It works fine, so I add something to make it scroll smooth back and forth, this also works well... Until I noticed the character blurred when moving back and forth. NOT up and down. I havent set the easy motion with the up and down yet, which leaves me to believe if I set an always for the x,y of the mouse it would work.

Is there anyway for my camera system to scroll smoothly AND keep the character from blurring without turning off motion blur?
B
2
G
3
Posts: 46
Reputation: 942

Post » Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:52 pm

I hate to double post. Alas I must. I have found a very unique problem, Motion blur seems to do more than just blur, it seems to speed up "every x milliseconds" events.
I have also replaced my arm sprites with the IK system, the IK system actually lags when the character moves with motion blur set to x0.
Everything runs flawlessly at x20. FLAW-LESS-LY.
If anyone knows of anything I can do, I would be very appreciative.
Also. Bump.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 46
Reputation: 942

Post » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:06 am

i used to notice that problem also, what version are you on?
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 156
Reputation: 1,612

Post » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:13 am

0.99.72
B
2
G
3
Posts: 46
Reputation: 942

Post » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:56 am

[quote="Fresh Frijoles":35wy87zc]I hate to double post. Alas I must. I have found a very unique problem, Motion blur seems to do more than just blur, it seems to speed up "every x milliseconds" events.
I have also replaced my arm sprites with the IK system, the IK system actually lags when the character moves with motion blur set to x0.
Everything runs flawlessly at x20. FLAW-LESS-LY.
If anyone knows of anything I can do, I would be very appreciative.
Also. Bump.[/quote:35wy87zc]

your set position and ik solving events should run every frame update (Always), they dont have to be timedelta dependant (milliseconds).

the only other thing i know is it works by rendering (blur amount (20x for example))*(vsync rate of monitor) of frames (increasing the speed of everything in non time delta things, tick speed dependant things) and averaging them out to 60 fps or wtv vsync is.

a lack of timedelta for certain things and having timedelta on other things that shouldnt have them might be the problem. for example, you always want an object to set position to another one, so theres no reason to put it under a milliseconds condition, but if you have a character and you want it to shoot ever 10 milliseconds, you dont want a change in framerate to make him shoot faster/slower in relation to everything else, so you need to put that under time delta related events.

i have no idea if any of this is of any help, or if its actually a bug :P
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:53 pm

motion blur also speeds up the custom movement plugin :P


I really don't recommend using motion blur anymore. Use Blur Motion effect (it's in the Completed Addons subforum) to blur specific objects at an angle instead.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:25 am

I am kind of stuck with motion blur now. Nothing works without it. I'm fairly sure everything IS set to always, which I read is supposed to be time delta dependent. Its all weird.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 46
Reputation: 942

Post » Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:54 am

Always doesn't have anything to do with timedelta. Always means for each tick (a pass through the events) the event is run - which means it will run as many times per second as the frames per second, which can vary, which is why timedelta's so useful.

If you have an event always - set sprite x to sprite.x+1, then the sprite's speed will vary depending on the fps. Timedelta makes it so it's how many pixels per second, not pixels per frame - like this: always - set sprite x to sprite.x+(100*timedelta) will move the sprite 100 pixels per second.
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:07 am

I realise, but I could have sworn I read that always was set up to use time delta. Maybe I'm thinking of "x milliseconds". Who knows.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 46
Reputation: 942

Post » Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:30 am

[quote="Fresh Frijoles":1uata12j]I realise, but I could have sworn I read that always was set up to use time delta. Maybe I'm thinking of "x milliseconds". Who knows.[/quote:1uata12j]

Nope. It even says "every tick" after the Always condition.

Milliseconds don't technically use timedelta either, they use real time. Timedelta is just a way to find the real time between ticks.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests