Problem With Transitioning From One Level To Another

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Nov 03, 2016 7:58 pm

So the way my first level works is that once the character collects 15 coins, they will advance to the next level.

The way this is setup on my Event Sheet is by having two conditions (15 coins met and on Level 1), and when the condition is met, the action is for them is to go to Level 2. However, whenever Level 2 loads up, I'm not able to play the second level at all. My character doesn't move.

I'm new to this software so if someone knows a solution that's easy for me to understand, I'd truly appreciate it.
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 181

Post » Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:10 pm

Hello!

Is level 2 a new layout? Does it definitely load level 2? Is your character spawned in the second layout or are they already placed? Do you enable platform behaviour in level 1 but not in level 2?

It's probably a very easy fix but I can't see what you've done.
B
46
S
16
G
73
Posts: 2,084
Reputation: 43,677

Post » Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:11 pm

Not sure what the problem is, totaly in the dark. So start with a question.

When you made the second layout, you get the choice to add a event sheet / or not. What did you choose ?

This is probably what you need:
https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/377/us ... le-layouts
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:44 pm

Message: MarkStockley can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
99Instances2Go wrote:Not sure what the problem is, totaly in the dark. So start with a question.

When you made the second layout, you get the choice to add a event sheet / or not. What did you choose ?

This is probably what you need:
https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/377/us ... le-layouts


I've tried this but it doesn't seem to work. I think it's because my first layout that starts is actually the main menu. It seems now that I just need a way to transition to the next level using this method.

I would post my game so it would be easier for others to detect the problem or to find a solution but there doesn't seem to be a way so I'm posting a couple screen shots.

Image

Right now the coins are set up so you only need one to advance so I can see if it works. ANyone know why it won't transition to the next level?
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 181

Post » Thu Nov 03, 2016 9:23 pm

Sure you can share a capx. Save the project as 'Save As Single File'.
Upload the resulting capx to google drive, dropbox, one drive .... any not shady sharing service .. we-transfer.. etc ...

Post the sharing link as follow:

http://www.dropbox.com
/s/z733x3byzzer501/infiniteJumps.capx?dl=0

The forum system will not truncate that link because it is not seeing the link.

Or use the BBcode for 'code' (in the full forum editor)

Code: Select all
https://www.dropbox.com/s/z733x3byzzer501/infiniteJumps.capx?dl=0
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JoyfulDreamer, StillSarah and 19 guests