Probobly a basic problem

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:22 pm

Alright, so I'm new, and this might be an easy problem.

I'm making a stage select. I have a background image with the stages, and have created unique sprites that are basically white boxes on top of them, with the opacity lowered to 0 so that they're not seen.

I have the mouse set to always show, and on each click, create a small object (again a small white box with 0 opacity, because i couldn't figure out how to make an object react when it was clicked.)

In the event editor, i entered On Collision between the two objects, system: go to Layout 2 with transition "None" lasting 0 MS.

But when i test it out, the layouts dont change. I moved the opacity around, even made the objects solid, but the layout stays the same.

Any ideas?
B
2
G
4
Posts: 11
Reputation: 1,072

Post » Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:40 pm

Insert the mouse & keyboard object, and you can detect if the user has clicked on an object.

Areas of transparency don't count as being able to collide or be clicked on. Are you sure you're not clicking a transparent area?

Finally, you could upload your .cap file so we can take a look.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,468

Post » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:59 pm

I looked and it looks like the keyboard/mouse is inserted, but still cant seem to make a event condition for an object to be clicked. My click creating an object and hoping the two would collide was just a workaround :)

Alright, I'll try to upload the .cap file but I'm not sure exactly how to do that! It doesn't look like I can add attachments. I uploaded it to Mediafire and you can access it at this link:
http://www.mediafire.com/?mj9mmzwzads

To learn more about construct, I'm making a fake Mega Man game, using sprites and screens. Please let me know your advice!
B
2
G
4
Posts: 11
Reputation: 1,072

Post » Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:33 pm

Go to the Mouse/Keyboard object and select the "On object clicked" event, then select the object that you want to be clicked. Then add a "goto next layout" action to go to the next screen.
Moderator
B
97
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,692

Post » Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:38 am

Thanks! It worked...

but...

2 problems emerged.

1) It works in "debug all" mode, but crashes when I try to run the layouts.

2) I cant seem to stop Select.mid from playing.

Link to the new .cap http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=6e02 ... b9a8902bda

I appreciate the help though!

- Justin
B
2
G
4
Posts: 11
Reputation: 1,072

Post » Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:17 am

I was gonna check it out but the link is dead :P
B
13
S
3
G
5
Posts: 286
Reputation: 3,193

Post » Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:54 pm

Yeah, I can't access it. File is set to private!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,468

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:18 am

This link doesnt work?

http://www.mediafire.com/?c5lhlhbad1t

I just tried it again. And as always, thanks for your help :)

- Justin
B
2
G
4
Posts: 11
Reputation: 1,072

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:24 am

do you know any other free file host maybe? I'd gladly use something more reliable!

I'm also trying to convert the mid file to an mp3, as i was having difficulty pausing the sound.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 11
Reputation: 1,072

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:09 am

http://fileshack.us/ is the one I've been pimping around. It's nice and simple. One click upload, one click download, no annoying ads*.

http://willhostforfood.com/ is good, too.



* At least, until it becomes more popular, like mediafire did :cry:
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests