Project fails to load on iOS browsers

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 4:32 am

Problem Description
Projects that are previewed or exported with the built in browser plugin fail to load on any ios browser. (specifically iPads)
Note that I was told about this problem by someone who plays my games and I decided to investigate it. The problem started only after I updated the project recently. The previous version of the game was built on the 27th of July, 2016. (This is not my main project) Based on the fact that I keep C2 updated with the latest beta version, I was probably using version r231 at that time.

Attach a Capx
https://www.dropbox.com/s/r24pg2gt06w6kcm/testproject.capx?dl=1

Exported version here:http://instructor-benedict-44161.bitballoon.com/

Description of Capx
Capx is a completely blank project with the browser plugin added

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Create new project
  • Add browser plugin
  • Export or preview project

Observed Result
Preview
Javascript error!
SyntaxError: Unexpected use of reserved word 'let' in strict mode
Browser_plugin.js, line 54 (col 0)

Assertion failure: A plugin is missing.
Check the plugin IDs match in edittime and runtime scripts.
Note this can also occur...
(then black screen)

Exported
Black screen, no errors.

Expected Result
Project loads

Affected Browsers
Windows
  • Chrome: (NO)
  • FireFox: (NO)
  • Edge: (NO)
  • Internet Explorer: (NO)
Android
  • Chrome: (NO)
  • FireFox: (NO)
iOS
  • Chrome: (YES)
  • FireFox: (YES)
  • Safari: (YES)


Operating System and Service Pack
PC: Windows 10 64 bit
iPad: iPad 2, ios version 9.3.5 (my only ios device)

Construct 2 Version ID
Release 240 64bit
Note: I am not active anymore. If you need to reach me for one of my games, you can do so by emailing me at [email protected]
B
63
S
25
G
8
Posts: 36
Reputation: 8,443

Post » Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:42 pm

your experiencing the same issue as i did please see this bug report
B
78
S
23
G
69
Posts: 1,354
Reputation: 44,027

Post » Fri Dec 16, 2016 5:04 pm

Looks like lots of people are having the same problem, there's multiple bug reports. (this was posted first)
Note: I am not active anymore. If you need to reach me for one of my games, you can do so by emailing me at [email protected]
B
63
S
25
G
8
Posts: 36
Reputation: 8,443

Post » Fri Dec 16, 2016 5:51 pm

austinblackbelt wrote:Looks like lots of people are having the same problem, there's multiple bug reports. (this was posted first)


yes, i seen it after i posted mine, weird bug though, however in R239 the bug is not present. everything works fine in there. so i downgraded personally, however R239, has i think a distortion audio effect, for mobile devices when are playing html5 hosted games via browsers... but that is another story.


if you want yo get your project done just use R239 and ios black screen bug should be a history :) atleast that will fix the issue if you are in a hurry. :D
B
78
S
23
G
69
Posts: 1,354
Reputation: 44,027

Post » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:49 pm

Closing as duplicate report, should be fixed in next build now.
Scirra Founder
B
403
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,654
Reputation: 196,155


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests