Project runs even though some sprite haven't loade

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:37 pm

Steps to reproduce:
1. Load any Construct 2 project exported as HTML5 in a browser. (Projects with very large images are more likely to be affected)
2. While it is loading, disconnect wifi or otherwise obstruct the loading of images for the sprites
3. Wait until the loading completes

Observed result:
The project loads and starts with some of the images for the sprites missing. The images that are missing are simply shown as black rectangles in normal blend mode. The browser also tends to cache the absent images, so they don't load even if you click the reload button. (You have to clear the cache then reload for the images to hopefully show up)

Expected result:
If all images for sprites are not loaded properly an error message should be shown and/or the loader should attempt to load the image once again. The project should not start.


Browsers affected:
Chrome: yes (Chromium also)
Firefox: yes (tested on Windows XP only)
Internet Explorer: not tested

Operating system & service pack:
Android 4.1, 4.2, 4.4.2, Windows XP

Construct 2 version:
158.2
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 185

Post » Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:12 pm

Link to .capx file (required! If link is blocked remove the http and www parts): hans.ryding.net/bug.capx

This is an example of a project that is affected.
It uses a 2560x1600 flashlight view and lets you scroll it around ontop of a 7680x4800 background image.

Note that the 7680x4800 image was taken randomly from the internet and because of that copyright and license for this particular image is unknown. So please don't redistribute the .capx.
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 185

Post » Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:32 pm

I've changed the next build so it won't start up the game if any of the images fail to load. However I don't think we can do anything about the caching issue - it's up to the browser what it caches, and it sounds like a browser bug if it still saves a cache when the connection was dropped half way through loading. You might want to report that side of it to the browser vendors themselves.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,240


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests