pseudo 3d and how to make it?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Oct 12, 2013 11:00 pm

i saw a 2d game in youtube.from neo geo the game called blazing star.at 4.38 of the video the backround is something like pseudo-3d which gives amazing depth in the game moving at the x axis.
Anyone have an idea how they made it?i make a scene in blender i animate it on x axis to give it motion.it takes around 30 frames.i create a sprite, import the frames of blender rendering, and try it out.but no way to make it work it uses too much memory in c2.have anyone try something at least similar

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLpLqgqimtI

any help or idea will help.
B
18
S
3
G
1
Posts: 248
Reputation: 2,353

Post » Sat Oct 12, 2013 11:13 pm

Well that may indeed be 3d.
Something similar is doable by changing different layers parallax scroll rates differently than those in the mid, and foreground.
Image ImageImage
B
171
S
50
G
180
Posts: 8,394
Reputation: 113,982

Post » Sat Oct 12, 2013 11:14 pm

A 3d image that scrolls?..
B
47
S
17
G
82
Posts: 2,230
Reputation: 48,607

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 12:51 am

It seems a trick but I'm not sure how to do it.

I attempted to recreate this .capx using multiple layers and parallax as @newt said, I had no idea how to make this similiar one

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/76227787/2.5dfixed.capx
B
99
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,421

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 1:39 am

Well the 3d part could be accomplished with the Rojo's Paster plug, but its not quite ready for prime time yet.
Image ImageImage
B
171
S
50
G
180
Posts: 8,394
Reputation: 113,982

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:26 am

Just model a 3d scene for your background in blender, and render a pan.

When you want your c2 scene background to pan just play the frames forward and backward.

That is all Rare did for the Killer Instinct backgrounds.
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:40 am

@jojoe it seems good idea, animated background with loop.
B
99
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,421

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:43 am

Hmmm... It's looks 3d, but it's pixelated. A lot of the art assets appear to have been scaled up too, especially the baby looking thing toward the end of the video.

What I'd do is model it in 3d like jojoe said, render a pan, and scale it down to pixelate it to save space. You may need to touch it up depending on what software you use. You only need half the frames of the animation and then flip the frames to complete the pan animation.



In addition, you can save space by only animating the base to where it meets the pillar. Make the pillar a tiled sprite and have it scroll with the base animation. Then you can flip the base to make the top support. If you want to save more space, I'd stop the animation when it got close to the edge of the screen and just let the last still frame scroll off the edge. I doubt anyone would notice it's missing a few frames at the end because the player's eyes are going to be focused around the ship and what's scrolling in from the right.Sebastian2013-10-13 06:45:24
B
14
S
7
G
3
Posts: 145
Reputation: 3,035

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:09 am

Wow! blazeing star is a sidescroller. Sorry I was thinking of the Neo-Geo game King or Fighters.

The same things apply though, here is a 5 minute dojo I made for a fighting game-like scenario:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B7p8-X5UMeryUE1rMXROdkl6dUE/edit?usp=sharing

Left and right arrows will pan. I would add some sprites in the foreground too to give it depth.

@Sebasitan has the right idea for saving space. I like the mirror idea a lot. I want to give it a try sometime :)
Getting the lighting to look right might be tricky, but I bet it can be done.
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Sun Oct 13, 2013 8:41 am

last night i tried it again resolution 1280*720 rendered in blender3d 9 frames.i resize it to 960*540 and import it to c2.In my phone cocoonjs crash down in the tablet was almost smooth.it uses 64mb of ram.the problem is that i think the more frames the more smooth is the animation.so with only 9 frames i rendered and used the backround runs terrible..but the thing is that if i use more frames the memory will increase dramatically decreasing the fps.

ill try what @sebastian said.
@everyone thanks a lot for your help.spy842013-10-13 08:42:05
B
18
S
3
G
1
Posts: 248
Reputation: 2,353

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests