Q for people who publish to desktops/laptops -re sprite size

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Nov 18, 2015 9:50 pm

Just a quick question, what's the largest single-sized sprite you've used your games?
Follow me on Twitter @evgLabs
B
34
S
14
G
4
Posts: 251
Reputation: 4,074

Post » Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:08 pm

1600x900 but I configured it to be an optional download rather than embed the hi-res image in the game.
probably not the most efficient use of memory but for the moment it works.
B
7
S
3
G
1
Posts: 181
Reputation: 1,346

Post » Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:25 pm

Keep 'em as small as possibile.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
76
S
20
G
19
Posts: 1,931
Reputation: 17,159

Post » Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:28 am

Do I need to make the sprite pixel size same as the screen size to be able to show the sprite covering the whole screen clearly?
B
16
S
4
G
1
Posts: 202
Reputation: 1,556

Post » Mon Nov 23, 2015 1:40 am

StormHo wrote:Do I need to make the sprite pixel size same as the screen size to be able to show the sprite covering the whole screen clearly?


Just make image size of the screen, and cut then in to smaller power of two size sprites ( 64x64px or 128x128px, 256x256px etc ).
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
76
S
20
G
19
Posts: 1,931
Reputation: 17,159


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests