Q3D V-2.4 [3D Physics + Skeletal Animation UPDATE]

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:25 am

I receive this message with my json models. You are attempting to use the model[dfhdh]which has skinning information on Q3D model[ffhj], but without the behaviour Q3D Skin Controller applied, this will lead to a fatal error. consider adding the behaviour or removing the bones. v 2.3 I didn't receive any messages like this.
B
43
S
5
G
5
Posts: 410
Reputation: 5,742

Post » Wed Apr 22, 2015 2:58 pm

@nemo

The issue is that your models have skeletal animations that arent used then. You exported them with the data without realizing and now that q3d supports them its wondering why that data is there.
B
75
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,841

Post » Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:04 pm

So now that I've spent about an hour with v2.4, I noticed that the export is still broken. All you get is a black screen like with v2.3. I thought v2.4 was supposed to fix that, too. ... I mean being able to export your game is rather crucial for a developer.
B
19
S
5
Posts: 24
Reputation: 2,800


Post » Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:57 pm

@wiimote

Strange, it's fixed for me. How can i reproduce it?

Make sure you're not minifying the project. Because of the way the minifier works (advanced optimizations) it wouldn't be easily possible to support it with Q3D in C2. If you want to minimize file size you should run C2runtime.js and any large js files from the export through a less harsh minifier like : http://jscompress.com/. This will retain all functionality but shrink the file size by around 50%.
Last edited by QuaziGNRLnose on Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
75
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,841

Post » Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:11 pm

@QuaziGNRLnose
Sorry, I found the problem. I checked "minify script" in the export window. I didn't know this destroys games that use Q3D, but it does.
B
19
S
5
Posts: 24
Reputation: 2,800

Post » Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:14 pm

@wiimote

Yea I had to design around minify because Q3D requires plugins to communicate in a way construct doesn't readily support with some of its features (notably it's minifier) this has been an issue a lot of people run into.
B
75
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,841

Post » Wed Apr 22, 2015 10:00 pm

I've started writing some documentation today.

I've begun writing 33 pages (with pictures and descriptions) on "getting started" with the various core features of Q3D. I'm going to try to add a little every day so i'll hopefully have some useful documentation in not too long (perhaps a few weeks).
B
75
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,841

Post » Thu Apr 23, 2015 2:02 am

I'm pretty new to actual 3D development so before I buy this I'm wondering if are there any good tutorials around for beginners? I noticed that the original post has got some examples, but I'm not sure they include what I really need, which is rather simple and basic - a single model on-screen, and the player to be able to rotate around it by dragging the mouse around the object, like a model viewer.

In any case, I'm just waiting a bit longer so I have enough cash to buy this and figure it out by myself, but if you could point me to the right direction and show me some tutorials on how to accomplish that I'd be grateful!

By the way I couldn't find anything on the thread though so I'm sorry if anything like that has been posted before.
B
122
S
42
G
40
Posts: 846
Reputation: 27,994

Post » Thu Apr 23, 2015 2:51 am

@QuaziGNRLnose

Does your plugin support frustrum culling?
B
17
S
6
Posts: 348
Reputation: 2,608

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Demkamen and 2 guests