Q3D V-2.4 [3D Physics + Skeletal Animation UPDATE]

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 8:55 am

@purplemonkey, this looks quite good and a great start in the right direction. Thanks for putting it together.
For game development / IT services contact - [email protected]

List of published iOS apps -
https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/ravi ... d693234511
B
84
S
20
G
3
Posts: 337
Reputation: 7,368

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:37 am

Yup the updated version works better just have to figure out as how to stack more cubes on one base cube ..... like in example we can one cube on top ......

still trying to figure it out ..... dammn its not that easy .... :?
Image
B
36
S
13
G
1
Posts: 99
Reputation: 3,051

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 3:10 pm

@QuaziGNRLnose Is there any way that the fog can affect and the Q3d sprites too ?
B
35
S
11
G
3
Posts: 97
Reputation: 3,478

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:17 pm

Nibel wrote:So, I have a question:

The morph animation example shows a room with various Quake characters and so on. It has a floor and 4 walls. Is it possible to create objects that are above the characters but that also allow the characters to walk under them? Like a floating platform for example.

I toyed around with this for some time now but it doesn't really seem to work, not sure if that's me, the plugin or C2 restrictions. One of the things I tried was to compare the player's Z with the floating platform's Z and if that Z is smaller than the player's, then it should allow the player to walk under it by disabling collisions etc..

Example: Player Z = -50. Floating platform Z = -200. Is platformZ smaller than playerZ? Yes. Disable collisions + remove solid. Doesn't work. :?


This is programming related, has nothing to do with C2 or Q3D limiting you.

If you want an easy solution, use the Q3D oimo physics behavior, Otherwise it's up to you on how to code layered platforms.
B
79
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,977
Reputation: 9,947

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:17 pm

@stefanos

I forget if theres an action where you can set fog enabled, if there isn't I'll add one.
B
79
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,977
Reputation: 9,947

Post » Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:39 pm

@QuaziGNRLnose There isn't one afaik. I'm on hold with my prototype waiting for your update. Till then here is my art piece which kickstarted my project using Q3D & C2 http://bit.ly/1IW7gAc

PS. If someone can provide a solid-good physics based fps demo would be awesome!
(My approach is based on the camera template and I have difficulties with my custom coded jump, uphill, etc movement. And sometimes it glitches causing the forward and backwards movement to reverse. Poor coding I know, trying to figure out 3d logic.)
B
35
S
11
G
3
Posts: 97
Reputation: 3,478

Post » Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:59 pm

QuaziGNRLnose wrote:
Nibel wrote:So, I have a question:

The morph animation example shows a room with various Quake characters and so on. It has a floor and 4 walls. Is it possible to create objects that are above the characters but that also allow the characters to walk under them? Like a floating platform for example.

I toyed around with this for some time now but it doesn't really seem to work, not sure if that's me, the plugin or C2 restrictions. One of the things I tried was to compare the player's Z with the floating platform's Z and if that Z is smaller than the player's, then it should allow the player to walk under it by disabling collisions etc..

Example: Player Z = -50. Floating platform Z = -200. Is platformZ smaller than playerZ? Yes. Disable collisions + remove solid. Doesn't work. :?


This is programming related, has nothing to do with C2 or Q3D limiting you.

If you want an easy solution, use the Q3D oimo physics behavior, Otherwise it's up to you on how to code layered platforms.


Yeah, you're right; I found a solution and while that one works and isn't overly complicated it seems way too bloated. Well, I just bought the addon! Do you send everything manually per mail or did I miss a step after payment? Cheers!
B
7
S
2
Posts: 24
Reputation: 567

Post » Tue Jul 07, 2015 4:38 pm

Hi i am thinking about getting the plugin , but i want to know how it performs on mobiles, anyone tried it? I Dont want pure 3d game, only few 3d models with normal mapped textures and light for background.
B
11
S
3
G
1
Posts: 419
Reputation: 1,782

Post » Tue Jul 07, 2015 5:31 pm

@ex32

Performance depends on the device.a good modern phone (nexus for example) can run a simple scene at low resolution with good fps (see the mobile morph demo). You need to be careful and limit what you do, adding graphics options is important too.

Q3D is optimized for desktop use though, mobiles still have pretty shoddy webgl.
B
79
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,977
Reputation: 9,947

Post » Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:01 pm

I sure hope this is a Q3D noob question, but my test app works fine in preview, both Chrome and NW.js, but when I export to either HTML5 or Node Webkit, I get a black screen when I run it...

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/407 ... index.html

any ideas? Am I doing something wrong/missing something? Or should I see about reporting this as a bug?

EDIT: also, I seem to get thrown errors when trying to use Lambert or Phong materials since updated to 2.4... again, likely my own fault, but I can't seem to figure out the cause
Last edited by brent_hamel on Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
70
S
10
G
9
Posts: 300
Reputation: 8,962

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests