Q3D V-2.4 [3D Physics + Skeletal Animation UPDATE]

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Tue Aug 04, 2015 1:17 am

@nibel

I can't really figure out what you mean from those images.
B
77
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,891

Post » Tue Aug 04, 2015 9:45 am

QuaziGNRLnose wrote:@nibel

I can't really figure out what you mean from those images.


Dunno how I can explain it even more clearer:

- Q3D Physics allows to rotate the 'physics body' independant from the 3D model or the collision model.
- What I did was rotating the 'physics body' (the bright yellow box) 45 degrees (this is what you see in the first image). I did not play around with neither 3D model settings nor collision settings
- Result: the little green box - the player - is able to overlap with the big yellow'ish box and collide ONLY with the rotated physics body as it should.
- Now, without doing anything else, I deactivated the debug body for the big 3D object, so that you don't see the bright yellow physics body anymore
- Result: now the big yellow box has the same hitbox like a normal box; the Q3D physics body collision doesn't apply anymore. I'm able to touch the box, but unable to overlap like in the first image.

This is really bizarre since the only thing I'm doing here is to deactivate the debug body (so that it is invisible) and suddenly the whole physics changed, which - as you already mentioned - shouldn't be the case. I tried a lot of things but can't seem to find the error: this only happens if you deactivate the debug body.

I found this when I tried to create stairs and when I used the same method (rotating the physics body) it worked really good. But then when I deactivated debug body the stairs turned into a huge box instead.
B
7
S
2
Posts: 24
Reputation: 567

Post » Tue Aug 04, 2015 2:39 pm

@nibel

It'd be helpful if you could pm me a simple .capx demonstrating the problem, so i could troubleshoot.

From what i understand though, physics are still working, its just the rotated collider isn't rotated anymore?
B
77
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,891

Post » Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:12 pm

@Nibel
I believe your model is just rotated 45 degrees, this is a cosmetic thing.

When a model is imported to Q3D it rarely if ever is oriented the way you want it to be.

This problem can be easily solved by either rotating the model (which I suggest) or rotating the collider.

Try tweaking with the model rotation x, y and z, putting in 45 degrees.

I'm guessing it's the Z rotation you're after.
Check out http://3dswing.com/ for games (in the works) and tutorials on Q3D plugin for construct 2.
-Masterofwin
B
9
S
2
Posts: 53
Reputation: 664

Post » Fri Aug 14, 2015 4:17 pm

Loving this plugin, but I think I'm running in to some of the shadowing "issues" with three.js:

* Is there any way to 'fake' how a point light might cast shadows with a combination of spot lights?
* I'm using an alpha-transparent diffuse map on a plane for my characters so they get lit correctly. Is there a way for the shadow to take the form of the 'cutout' shape of the texture, rather than the square shape of the plane?
* Shadows from spot lights/directional lights seem to "override" point lights... the shadows don't get any 'lighter' when coming under the influence of point lights, they seem to just cast darkness everywhere no matter what the lighting set up is. Is there something like a 'priority' setting to overcome this?
B
4
S
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 374

Post » Mon Aug 17, 2015 4:47 am

Will this ever be in the Scirra store?

I can not use Pay-Pal! i really want to buy this, but it is not an option for me :(

Is there any other way I can send you money? This looks wonderful!
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Tue Aug 18, 2015 4:31 pm

Hi guys !
I bought Q3D a few days ago, and I started to discover this awesome addon. It's realy hard for me because I'm french and not realy good in english, so I don't understand all the documentation, wich is, hum, poor.
I LOVE oldschools FPS like Wolfenstein, Rise of the Triads, etc... And I want to be able to make and play this type of game, directly in my browser.

Today, I'm proud to show you the result of my work. It's not finished yet, and there still a lot of work on this, but I think it's just a matter of time.
I made a sort of 2D editor, you draw your level with classical sprites, one for the walls, one for the floor, in the future for celling, other type of walls, doors, items...
At the begining of the level, Blocs are spawned at sprites coordinates, and we destroy the sprites.

The tweak is I rotate the camera in Q3DMaster by (90,90,0) to have this "First Person View". It work fine, moving and jumping are OK but I can move through walls. Floor is "solid" and I can't pass through it, but walls are like... Nothing. I think it's because I had to change gravity vector, but I can't find (ATM ;)) a solution. Still working...
And the game is "reverted"...

I'll continue to work on it, you can follow my steps on Instagram : jcharpentier85

Image
Image
B
8
S
1
G
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 1,815

Post » Wed Aug 19, 2015 8:22 pm

@s3rg385 That's a great way to do 3D editing with the 2D editor! I'm interested to see where you go with it.

My workaround for 3D editing is to set up incremental "set position" keyboard-activated movements for all six directions (increments of 1, 5 or 10) for each 3D object in the Event sheet, and then I go to the Preview window (the 3D view), press the arrow buttons, etc., to move the object around until I get it into the right space. The increments are recorded in text objects representing x, y and z. When I've got the object where I want it, I write down the coordinates from the text objects, go back to the 2D editor, and change the object's coordinates accordingly. I used this also for having a character reach for an object and touch it precisely with his hand. So far it's worked pretty well.

I'd like to combine that technique with the one you came up with, to speed things up. Thanks for the information! (Unfortunately, I'm not with my Construct 2 right now, so I couldn't work on the problem you have--making the walls solid. I was able to do it before, but that was using a different view orientation from yours (with y as the vertical axis, z as depth, x as width).
B
11
S
2
Posts: 24
Reputation: 686

Post » Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:54 am

@QuaziGNRLnose, There is this link wherein we could draw lines and curves using threejs - http://www.lab4games.net/zz85/blog/2014 ... and-webgl/

Wondering if this is possible using the Q3Dplugin? I havent seen the corresponding actions/conditions to draw a line, push vertices, draw curves for example. Please let me know.

For example if the below has to be achieved using Q3D, is there a way to do it? -

geometry = new THREE.Geometry();
geometry.vertices.push(new Vector2(x1, y1, 0));
geometry.vertices.push(new Vector2(x2, y2, 0));
material = new THREE.LineBasicMaterial( { color: 0xffffff, linewidth: 2 } );
line = new THREE.Line(geometry, material);
scene.add(line);

If this is not present in the current Q3D, can it be considered for the future version?
For game development / IT services contact - [email protected]

List of published iOS apps -
https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/ravi ... d693234511
B
84
S
20
G
3
Posts: 337
Reputation: 7,368

Post » Sat Aug 22, 2015 11:30 pm

LOL, I'm not into 3D yet, but I new there was a way to develop 3D with Construct 2. However, I heard that Ashley doesn't want to competed directly with Unity for now.
B
16
S
6
G
2
Posts: 164
Reputation: 3,207

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests