Q3D V-2.4 [3D Physics + Skeletal Animation UPDATE]

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:19 pm

@funkykoval

Im not sure if theres any incompatibilities as i havent tested things extensively in new versions. I think the last known compatible version was like r-200, but it "should" work fine in new versions.
B
77
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,891

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2015 3:08 pm

QuaziGNRLnose

Wonderful. Thank you for the prompt reply.
B
8
S
2
G
2
Posts: 85
Reputation: 1,218

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:11 pm

@Prominent

Hey, I was just wondering if you could send me an example capx of offsets being reapplied for a global object. I can't seem to reproduce the bug. Maybe I already fixed it a long time ago, but I can't remember. It's possible i'm just not doing things correctly to get the bug.

I'm not really sure it's a good idea to mix global stuff with Q3D though, because it's already got to do a lot of hacky stuff with global states to properly interface objects inside of construct (the sdk doesn't like plugins communicating, so I have to use workarounds that probably have edge cases I haven't thought of). I'm uncertain of the stability and haven't extensively tested global stuff. If you are using it and run into bugs please try to report them with an example, i'll do my best to fix them!
B
77
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,891

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2015 8:37 pm

Been waiting for the skeletal animation tutorial for a while now.
The export option on the internet is outdated.
I really started to hate this plugin... GAH!
B
15
S
3
Posts: 57
Reputation: 909

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2015 8:39 pm

I mean like who use morph animation nowadays? GAH!
B
15
S
3
Posts: 57
Reputation: 909

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2015 9:33 pm

you need to export using the blender exporter from (https://github.com/mrdoob/three.js/releases/tag/r71) this version of three.js. I don't know what "export option on the internet" you're talking about.

There's a few example models you can test out animation on (marine_anims.js) in that zip file. Just add a Q3D Model, load a model with skeletal animations, apply the skeletal animation behaviour, and add a Q3D Bone object to the layout. YOU need to add a Q3D bone object or it wont work. Skeletal animation is complicated and slow in javascript because of the cpu load involved, so morph animation is preferred if you actually want your game to run fast or if you want lots of animated elements.
B
77
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,891

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2015 10:31 pm

@QuaziGNRLnose , here's an example: http://1drv.ms/1msjDAu
Make sure to run from layout 1.
B
43
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 37,939

Post » Sat Dec 19, 2015 8:10 pm

@prominent

Okay, I think I fixed it (hopefully without breaking anything else)

Thanks for the example!
B
77
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,891

Post » Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:27 am

@QuaziGNRLnose , Good to know!
I'm having some other issue with the On Model Created event; example here (run from layout 1): http://1drv.ms/1UZDC56
When new models get created, it doesn't seem to fire the on created event. Am I doing something wrong?
Also, in a different project I'm working on, the on model created returns an error: assertion failure: unable to find instance by IID.
stack trace:
Error
at Error (native)
at assert2 (http://localhost:50000/preview_prelude.js:16:10)
at cr.type_getInstanceByIID [as getInstanceByIID] (http://localhost:50000/commonace.js:1198:3)
at cr.type_applySolToContainer [as applySolToContainer] (http://localhost:50000/commonace.js:1338:28)
at Runtime.executeSingleTrigger (http://localhost:50000/preview.js:4800:26)
at Runtime.triggerOnSheetForTypeName (http://localhost:50000/preview.js:4762:16)
at Runtime.triggerOnSheet (http://localhost:50000/preview.js:4694:13)
at Runtime.trigger (http://localhost:50000/preview.js:4665:13)
at Object.THREE.TSH.ModelFit (http://localhost:50000/Q3Dobj_plugin.js:932:17)
at instanceProto.setupModel (http://localhost:50000/Q3Dobj_plugin.js:953:14)

I did some experimenting and it seems to happen when the model is part of a container and it has to create the other object. Here is an example capx showing the error. It's basically the same capx as before but the model is part of a container: http://1drv.ms/1QH6tMl

Hope you can fix these issues!
B
43
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 37,939

Post » Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:10 pm

Hey, I'm wondering if there's going to be a more extensive collision support in the future of Q3D?
I would like to see the ability of assigning collision meshes to Q3D models and their Oimo behaviors. Would that be possible?

Also, some quick bug reports off the top of my head:
* The expression in "Q3D Master: set background color" flips the R and the B values. So if you assign the RGB value to be rgb(255,0,0), the result will be pure blue.
* The shadow cam in spot lights and directional lights seems to "cast shadows on itself", seemingly based on distance and pitch to each object it casts the map on. I wasn't sure what was actually causing it - and even after experimenting with every shadow map value available at run-time, it's still quite apparent.

Thanks and keep up the good work!
B
7
S
1
Posts: 21
Reputation: 475

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Verstala and 1 guest