Q3D V-2.4 [3D Physics + Skeletal Animation UPDATE]

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:09 pm

QuaziGNRLnose wrote:@zebbi

You can lay things out in the layout editor from a top down/side view. Generally I recommend you do it with sprites and have those call functions to build your map out of objects at start of layout though. Sadly the construct 2 SDK is limited for the editor, so I could only make it simple where you are looking at the map from the positive Z axis towards the negative Z axis, and get a proxy of what you're doing from rough images of the bounding box/sphere rather than an actual rendering.

Do you have an ultra basic example of how to get started with a functioning first-person perspective walk through of an area build out of sprites/backgrounds that are rendered in 3D?
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Sun Feb 28, 2016 6:13 pm

mhm... lag ?
B
7
S
3
G
1
Posts: 107
Reputation: 1,018

Post » Mon Feb 29, 2016 7:45 am

what version of Constructor 2 is last stable version for Q3D or is everyone is just continue updating to the newest build.
Last edited by techjunkie on Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:31 pm, edited 21 times in total.
B
11
S
4
G
1
Posts: 25
Reputation: 1,387

Post » Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:53 pm

Prominent wrote:@Zebbi , thanks- yeah, that's what I'd do. I'd use something like my Crocotile3d program to create the map and export it, then import into construct2 using q3d.
That's what I did with that example gif. I think I had to flip the y axis, or rotate the model to display correctly- q3d gives you options for sorting that stuff out.
I then used a tilemap object and physics objects with chipmunk plugin to handle collisions.
I'm not sure how I would handle collisions for a fps game though. It would be easy if you could use a 2d representation for collisions like wolfenstein, and use a tilemap object, etc..
It might be possible to create your own collisions by raytracing geometry if you want something more 3d.. or maybe try using the provided physics stuff in q3d( I havent tested them out ).. But you'd need a way to place that stuff efficiently, and change it easily if you need to.
I wrote an experimental feature in crocotile3d to export the collisions tile data based on a map I construct in it, and then I just load that into the tilemap object. That way I don't have to setup the collisions in Construct2.
It only works for side-view style maps though.
I don't know how well you are at writing your own code/etc. But you might be able to export some object point data from my Crocotile3d program and create your own instructions in Construct2 that takes that data and use it to create/place q3d physics objects for collisions. But I don't want to suggest doing that since I haven't tried it myself and have no experience with the q3d physics, so I don't know how difficult it would be or what sort of issues it may have.

Alex, do you have a capx that shows a section made in crocotile 3D imported and working in C2? Something like that example gif would be very useful!
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:35 pm

@Zebbi , sure, I'll put something together when I have time, and get a capx available.
B
41
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,085
Reputation: 37,842

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:09 am

B
41
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,085
Reputation: 37,842

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:40 am


Thank you for these fixes, Alex. I must have missed them before!
B
40
S
21
G
18
Posts: 153
Reputation: 12,308

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:02 am


Wow, thank you @prominent! That looks excellent, have you tried having it so the character can walk along the z-axis when UP is pressed?

Just trying to work out how the heck to visualize this kind of thing in a 2d editor that doesn't have any relationship with the 3d object :?
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Tue Mar 01, 2016 6:47 pm

@Zebbi , I haven't tried that, but if I were to try it I'd probably use two player controlled sprites(one that moves side-view, and one that moves top-view). I'd probably have to do some other sort of trickery to make stuff work how I'd want it. Maybe a tilemap for topview, with tilenumbers corresponding to the height in sideview. The issue with that, is that you wouldn't be able to have platforms ontop of other platforms, unless you add more tilemaps- so that might work fine if you put them in a family. I'm also not sure how you'd handle slopes in that case. I'm sure all this is possible though. You'd just need to do some experimenting, and creative thinking.
B
41
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,085
Reputation: 37,842

Post » Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:43 am

I think it would be amazing to work with this for a 2d based game hat renders an entirely 3D background like you've done, heck, you could even do pandemonium-style games with it. @prominent Did you trial and error the position of the grey floor tiles to line up with the sewer obj?
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests