Q3D V-2.4 [3D Physics + Skeletal Animation UPDATE]

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Sat Feb 25, 2017 6:02 pm

So, just a question, does this engine support any kind of NPR shading? Cell-shading?
B
14
S
3
Posts: 20
Reputation: 840

Post » Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:27 pm

@QuaziGNRLnose,

Have you given any thought to porting Q3D over to Construct 3?
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
46
S
12
G
20
Posts: 363
Reputation: 14,299

Post » Fri Mar 10, 2017 5:50 pm

@tunepunk, I took the liberty of shifting your question from a different thread over to here, where it makes more sense.

@tunepunk
Good job. I bought Q3D as well to try out, but the lack of documentation, and tutorials made me give up, especially since editing levels and such was really painful in the Construct 2 environment. How did you overcome that?


I started the project thinking that I would make a simulator for our school's robotics team for its "Robot Rumble" competition. After playing around with Q3D and the AirConsole plugin for about a week, I realized that by working with students, we would have enough manpower to create an actual game.

Initially, I used a a combination of brute force (looking at all the examples and trying things), but then I asked for help from @QuaziGNRLnose, who was awesome and super-knowledgeable. I wasn't trying to make a first person shooter (they aren't a good fit for smartphones anyway). Instead, we were making a "BattleBots"-style game where you don't need a lot of buttons or analog sticks. This meant that we could use a simplified version of the "Tiny Tanks" demo mechanics. We didn't even need a suspension system for the robots, just a box with four wheels. From there, it was just a matter of building out a simple platform and weapon.

All in all, it involved a lot of trial and error and learning, but I did the event sheets myself in my spare time (approximately 2 hours/day = 100 hours total) and had a working version of the game in 2 months.

The new documentation is technically incomplete (it doesn't cover physics), but is still extremely helpful. I wish it had been available when I started back in October, but I have learned a ton from it even after finishing the game. I knew nothing about 3D games at the start of the project, and I'm now confident that I could make pretty much anything I want in Construct 2.
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
46
S
12
G
20
Posts: 363
Reputation: 14,299

Post » Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:07 am

@quaziGNRLnose

I just completed a new Q3D tutorial:

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/9456/building-your-first-3d-game-with-the-q3d-plugin

Would you mind taking a look for errors?
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
46
S
12
G
20
Posts: 363
Reputation: 14,299

Post » Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:14 pm

@tunepunk,

I realized I never really answered your question above -- sorry!

Trying to make a 3D game with a 2D layout editor is a pain in the neck. For Robot Rumble I made the mistake of laying everything out in a side view rather than a top-down view. This meant that I had to do a lot of trial and error to figure out how everything would look when my camera was top-down.

In the tutorial I intentionally did a top-down layout for the top-down camera. This way it is a lot easier to manually place items. I recommend setting the (x,y) position and the (x width,y width) size in the editor, then creating an in-game camera that you can move around, and tweaking the z-size and z-position of the objects according to what looks right.

TL:DR
For a top-down game, use a top-down layout in the C2 editor.
For a side-scrolling game, use a side view layout in the C2 editor.
For a 1st-person or 3rd-person game, use a top-down layout in the C2 editor.
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
46
S
12
G
20
Posts: 363
Reputation: 14,299

Post » Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:35 pm

@cjbruce Thanks for the replies. I'm considering recreating my game using Q3D instead, as I'm having some trouble simulating physics and arrows in a 2D isometric view, and memory budget is getting limited by the number of sprites and animation frames I want to use.

you can test a demo here http://www.tunepunk.com/arrowheads It's also multiplayer using photon cloud.
(preferably on a tablet or mobile phone as it's optimized for touch at the moment) I want to lay out the map using a top down view, and then have a camera follow the player in an isometric perspective. I think could save a lot of memory and have more varied maps & terrain by using 3D shapes instead. I have all the assets in low poly as well.

I tried the mobile demo from this page so performance should be fine... I guess i have to give it another go.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
35
S
15
G
17
Posts: 944
Reputation: 12,210

Post » Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:15 pm

@tunepunk,

The artwork in your game is beautiful!

I think you are probably right about doing an isometric view in 3D. The game seems like a really good candidate for it. Just switch the camera to orthogonal mode and you would be all set.

FWIW, 3D models are loaded into memory once, then reused on different layouts. The first load can take a while, so just make sure you have some sort of loading screen with callbacks to keep track of which objects have already loaded.
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
46
S
12
G
20
Posts: 363
Reputation: 14,299

Post » Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:56 pm

@cjbruce I managed to import some of my models to try out. So far so good, but it seems all imported 3D objects and the camera are using a platform/side view angle. This get very confusing when you try to build a level as the axis doesn't compute in my brain. in a top down view Z should be up down movement on screen, and y would be closer/further to camera. Do you know of any way to change those settings? I think it's important i get this right otherwise the physics of the arrows are going to go bonkers.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
35
S
15
G
17
Posts: 944
Reputation: 12,210

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 10:27 am

@tunepunk

I found this a little frustrating too. You will need to play around with the "Model properties" until everything you import comes in looking right. I recommend pulling in a shape that looks different in x,y,z (i.e. the Blender monkey with a missing ear) so you can tell what is happening. Section 1.2 (pages 12-20) of the Q3D manual has a pretty good discussion of getting sizing right when importing models, but it kind of glosses over the fact that rotation is critically important to get right before you start messing with the size.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vpn0mbh4m7lo9zj/Q3D%20Users%20Manual%20V2-4_2.docx?dl=0

Under "Model properties":
1. Make sure Model Rotation X, Model Rotation Y, and Model Rotation Z are set correctly first.
2. Once the Model Rotation is set correctly, then you can work on Model Fit, Model Placement, and Model Scale.

I believe you can also do this in Blender during the export dialog, but this wasn't part of my workflow.

Also, are you exporting .json or .obj?
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
46
S
12
G
20
Posts: 363
Reputation: 14,299

Post » Tue Mar 21, 2017 10:35 am

@cjbruce after a bit if playing around i managed to get it right last night. I'm exporting obj with Maya LT. and directly importing the obj file, placed them upside down.... turning on physics for the object helped me correct the orientation and camera because i could see which way it was falling. LOL.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
35
S
15
G
17
Posts: 944
Reputation: 12,210

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alextro and 2 guests