Q3D V-2.4 [3D Physics + Skeletal Animation UPDATE]

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:05 am

@kmsravindra

The bulk of these issues are related to hardware limitations. Positioned is doing its job, its not meant to rescale dynamically, and your issues may be related to what fullscreen mode your project is using, and if high quality is enabled etc.. Most of your issues would be solved by behind mode with autofit, any reason you arent using it? You need to make the layers transparent for it to be visible so no c2 background is rendered.

I cant improve the performance of inside mode, it is upto a browser how efficient it will be, and infact is badly supported on anything but chrome/webkit. Its a shame but its all i can do to blame it on them.

The memory error is an ipad hardware limitation. There is probably a limit on texture size in the webgl implementatiom they have. For performance reasons you should use images that arent huge anyways.

Instead of using tickount use timer in those expressions, then global timescale will affect them. If you need local timescale youll need to use a variable that increments by the self.dt value each tick.

@prominent

Its simply too much work for me atm. There are more important widely useful features on the wishlist. I could make a simple api quickly but itd be no simpler than doing it in javascript in that case.
B
75
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,841

Post » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:57 am

@QuaziGNRLnose, Thanks for the responses. In Autofit - Behind mode, the C2 sliders though visible on screen at runtime, they don't respond somehow...C2 sliders get disabled in this mode.
Last edited by kmsravindra on Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
84
S
20
G
3
Posts: 337
Reputation: 7,368

Post » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:01 am

Message: Polygallon is not yet permitted to post plain text URLS (300 rep required). 1 URLS removed. Why?
Quickly wanted to really underline what an amazing plugin this is. The first version being a tad underwhelming but still impressive, and now this second version which really took me by storm. There's still work to be done, surely, but this is still darn impressive for what it is atm. Just wanted to clarify that in the midst of all the current problems people seem to talk about. I'm waiting for animation support, but that doesn't stop me from praising both the concept and technical side of things here, and the execution.

Now with that said...
Prominent wrote:Use case would be a 3d modeling editor, where you can create a model from scratch, save it, etc. This is something I have been interested in making- using C2 to do it would set it higher on my priority list..


I've been developing something using Q3D for a couple of days now, and I've used it before 2.0 came out. Now, what I used to get things going among the modelling part of development/testing was with Wings 3D: . It's both simple and easy to use, and feels really comfortable when it comes to mocking up or making low-poly models. Not saying that it couldn't handle hi-poly, I just don't think that's why it exists per se. Took me a while to find this program and am willing to share it to others here, because it's way less confusing than Blender and way less expensive than Maya (It's free!). And yeah, it exports .obj and works very well inside C2 with Q3D.

So yeah, Wings 3D. Had some problems getting into UV mapping, but after a while, it becomes quite natural. For me at least.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 21
Reputation: 475

Post » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:21 am

@QuaziGNRLnose, one more thing that I forgot to mention is that on iOS simulator all I see is dark spheres with no textures/colors...looks like even the lights are off...But good news is that on my iPad2 (non-retina) it looks good and works with decent speed! Not sure what is the problem with the simulator device...Anyway I am submitting the app to App Store and fingers crossed....
B
84
S
20
G
3
Posts: 337
Reputation: 7,368

Post » Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:59 pm

@kmsravindra

oh you're using the html controls, i'm implementing a fix in the next update, but besides that if you made the controls using sprites they'd work with behind mode.
B
75
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,841

Post » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:04 pm

@polygallon

Thanks for the feedback, animation support will probably be in around Christmas time.
B
75
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,841


Post » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:25 pm

i understand nothing at this plugin, how it works, how you load a scene from 3ds max, what kind of file format this opens..................do someone have a BASIC 3d scene with just a sphere a spot light and a camera???
B
34
S
13
G
6
Posts: 1,643
Reputation: 8,761

Post » Tue Dec 16, 2014 8:33 pm

also it's not possible to load a obj with a shader like gold or silver?
it is possible to simulate those two shaders?
B
34
S
13
G
6
Posts: 1,643
Reputation: 8,761

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:43 am

@imothep85

Check the first post, there are example .capx files you can download in a zip file, and information about supported file types (obj and three.js json model format 3), as well as useful information. You can only load .js files with exported materials, but you can define the shininess/color/maps/material etc. of the object using actions.

@kmsravindra

Something like that will be possible with morph targets update :) It is largely completed.
B
75
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,841

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests