Q3D V-2.4 [3D Physics + Skeletal Animation UPDATE]

Post your completed addons to share with the community

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:24 pm

This is a forward renderer not a deferred renderer, so more lights will kill performance extremely and are not supportet by some graphics cards. This is a limitation in all graphic engines with forward rendering. There are some ways to use more in some engines.
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 46
Reputation: 1,592

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:27 pm

thanks for updating!
B
80
S
29
G
135
Posts: 212
Reputation: 73,573

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:29 pm

How easy is this to use for a beginner? What are its limits? I assume a full open world game would be impossible
B
2
Posts: 1
Reputation: 152

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:53 pm

UnixRoot wrote:This is a forward renderer not a deferred renderer, so more lights will kill performance extremely and are not supportet by some graphics cards. This is a limitation in all graphic engines with forward rendering. There are some ways to use more in some engines.


Ah yes - the drawcalls are going to need keeping an eye on for sure! I was just wondering what the "Max Lights" property on the Q3D Master referred to? I'm currently doing some playing around and have about 8 lights wandering around in the viewport with the sine behaviour and it seems to be rendering correctly at 60 fps on a kinda old desktop PC.
B
4
S
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 374

Post » Mon Jan 12, 2015 2:50 am

@UnusualCadence

Yea i forgot to remove that property, it's a remnant from an older version when browsers didn't gracefully handle too many shader uniforms and too many lights would cause crashes. It doesn't do anything now so you can *technically* build as many lights as you want, although some hardware may not support it and mess up the graphics. It's a good idea to not over-use lights, and recycle them.

I have eventual plans to try and write in a deferred renderer, but don't expect it anytime soon, as it would require considerable work.
Last edited by QuaziGNRLnose on Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
77
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,974
Reputation: 9,893

Post » Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:12 am

mrchooch wrote:How easy is this to use for a beginner? What are its limits? I assume a full open world game would be impossible


I'd say the plugin requires intermediate experience with construct and 3D tools. It's very easy to make simple things, even for a beginner, but more complicated 3D games require an understanding of trigonometry / linear algebra, and basic 3D graphics principles. The plugin is much simpler to use than it used to be, but it's not meant to be extremely beginner friendly as this would limit the flexibility / speed of the 3D engine a bit.

The C2 engine, and Q3D itself are geared for web technologies. Q3D performs quite well considering its all WebGL and JavaScript. You can make many types of 3D games, but as you assume there are obviously limitations to the size/complexity since everything is meant to run in a browser. With that said, the performance is pretty much as good as it can be in a browser, and you can get away with quite complex games. With time and updates it'll get even better, but don't expect native performance you seen in stuff like modern 3D AAA titles is possible.

All in all you need to expect that Q3D doesn't do the work of building your game for you, but gives you some nice tools to work on 3D web games / applications using construct.
B
77
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,974
Reputation: 9,893

Post » Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:00 am

3D Earth and Space app released on iPad ! Check it out at- http://goo.gl/vbMT3Y

Check out the video on this app-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDiHXii9l9M
For game development / IT services contact - [email protected]

List of published iOS apps -
https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/ravi ... d693234511
B
84
S
20
G
3
Posts: 337
Reputation: 7,368

Post » Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:00 am

@QuaziGNRLnose

Ah that is great to hear! I'm doing an orthographic camera/pixel art project so keeping the lights disabled when not near the viewport should be an easy optimisation. 2.3 is really great to use, I'm a very happy bunny with the lights and sprite plugins! Once you've wrapped your head around the extra dimension and how things are viewed in the editor it becomes very easy to use indeed :)
B
4
S
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 374

Post » Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:02 pm

Export to NodeWebkit does not work as it should. Some of my 3D objects are missing ingame after export. The preview button in C2 for NodeWebkit works fine. Strange. Why does the preview work but not the export?
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 46
Reputation: 1,592

Post » Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:45 pm

@unixroot

Thats usually caused if you try to load a file that doesnt exist, im not sure why it ends up as an error only in export but check ALL your Q3D models to make sure theyre trying to access / load legitimate files, the loading fails to continue if it hIts a false file in NW. PM me the capx if possible, so i can try to find a fix.

It may have to do with how files are hosted on localhost in preview, I really dont know atm.
B
77
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,974
Reputation: 9,893

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests