Question to the Scirra Team

Chat about anything not covered in these forums, but keep it civil!

Post » Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:50 pm

Why do we need to use the latest beta to upload our games? We have no choice on what version to use. If I were to use the current stable build (Which is what I'd Prefer) I can't upload the games to Scirra. So it forces me to use the beta. I feel this is not okay as some people such as myself would prefer to use the stable build and not have to worry about every single time a beta comes out in between stable releases.

Just my opinion. It's not too big of a deal. Just don't like switching around versions so much when working on a project. I'd like to keep everything in one place just in case.
B
12
S
3
G
1
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1,979

Post » Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:12 pm

Apox Inc wrote:Why do we need to use the latest beta to upload our games?

This is exclusive for bug reporting only to see whether the issue have been addressed or not. The stable version are meant for those who want to continue developing in stable version. So if you found a bug in stable version, test it in the latest beta, if the bug persist then only you file a bug report, otherwise assume the issue has been addressed for the next stable release.

edit: lol I misunderstand the first post, sorry :oops:
Last edited by DuckfaceNinja on Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
28
S
8
G
4
Posts: 553
Reputation: 4,924

Post » Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:29 pm

The Arcade was designed a couple of years ago now and at the time due to technical and security constraints we could only support one version of C2, and we decided to go with the latest beta instead of the latest stable.

For quite some time we've been meaning to re-write the Arcade to make it a lot better and work around these restrictions, but it keeps getting delayed due to other projects. Hopefully it'll be done eventually though.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:50 pm

Ashley wrote:The Arcade was designed a couple of years ago now and at the time due to technical and security constraints we could only support one version of C2, and we decided to go with the latest beta instead of the latest stable.

For quite some time we've been meaning to re-write the Arcade to make it a lot better and work around these restrictions, but it keeps getting delayed due to other projects. Hopefully it'll be done eventually though.


@Ashley Thank You very much for letting me know! That's completely understandable. I can work with it, as I said it's no big deal :D
B
12
S
3
G
1
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1,979

Post » Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:51 pm

DuckfaceNinja wrote:
Apox Inc wrote:Why do we need to use the latest beta to upload our games?

This is exclusive for bug reporting only to see whether the issue have been addressed or not. The stable version are meant for those who want to continue developing in stable version. So if you found a bug in stable version, test it in the latest beta, if the bug persist then only you file a bug report, otherwise assume the issue has been addressed for the next stable release.

edit: lol I misunderstand the first post, sorry :oops:


@DuckfaceNinja Yeah haha you misunderstood my post a bit, but it's all good. @Ashley was on point :)
B
12
S
3
G
1
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1,979


Return to Open Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dwm247 and 1 guest