Questions from a mover (Stencyl to C2)

0 favourites
  • 3 posts
From the Asset Store
A cool way for kids to write and practice English Alphabets
  • Hi to all.

First: my apologize for every typo / mistake, english is not my first language.

Second: If this isn't the right board, please move the thread accordingly

Third: I searched the forums and read almost every page of the manual, a book about C2 and approx 1248 tutorials

Fourth: in my day job, I am a Product Manager and Java / Groovy / Grails developer, focussing on mobile (cash) games, gambling websites and their backends

Enough said

Prolouge:

I was looking for a framwork to develop / draft out new HTML5(!) games quickly and while looking into several tools some years ago, a ended up with GameMaker: Studio, GameSalad, Construct 2 and Stencyl. Working on a Mac, Constuct 2 and GameMaker dropped to the end of the list, GameMaker to the very last place beeing very expensive for what I was looking for.

GameSalad feeled a bit limited to me and Stencyl 3 offered HTML5 export during the beta phase, so I gave it a chance and did four titles with it (a flash title for a GameJam and three mobile games) and a number of HTML5 prototypes, but at the end of the beta phase Stencyl dropped the (always limited) HTML5 support. While still loving the product, I had to look for another choice and ended up installing Parallels / Windows on my Mac to give C2 a chance.

What the heck?

Okay, to make a long story short: I noticed some major differences between C2 and Stencyl and some things I miss. And while missing things, I thought I could ask if there's something similar in C2?

Questions

Organzing code:

Stencyl has several places where the developer places his "code":

1.1. Scenes (Layout in C2) have an Event sheet. This is similar to C2

1.2. Scenes can have behaviors

1.3. Actors (Sprites/Objects) do have behaviors (similar to C2)

1.4. Actors do have it's own Event sheet.