[r100] Unable to Save anymore

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:42 am

I just started seeing this issue in r100, and even r100 worked for a day or so. Now when I save my project it freezes. It is stuck on "saving auto backup file". I let it run for a good 5-10 minutes before giving up. What can I do to check for other issues?

It's related to my project as simpler projects still save fine. Instantly almost. I'm sure it's just some stuck setting somewhere. Anyone have a clue?

Thanks for any tips in advance. I have the latest JRE and drivers installed.
B
30
S
10
G
7
Posts: 416
Reputation: 7,239

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:25 am

Have you set a backup folder to a network drive or folder that is no longer accessible? C2 might be trying to access the backup location but if it's unavailable it might get stuck.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:15 am

I got the same problem now. It doesn't save all the textures.
B
7
S
3
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1,645

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:20 am

Here is the error:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/4759481/construct2.png
B
7
S
3
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1,645

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 1:26 pm

Did you use 'save as'? Is it the same as the other similar problem already posted to the bugs forum?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:21 pm

I have it set to create backups every 15 minutes and I also save them to dropbox, so I should be ok.

This folder is not new or moved. I am also not getting an error, the save just hangs.

Update: Save As works. Save happens in seconds too.

Update 2: Now I am seeing this.

---------------------------
Construct 2 Check failure
---------------------------
Check failure! This is probably a bug:

Setting texture, but texture file on disk appears to be missing

Condition: FileExists(GetActivePath().c_str())
File: Projects\ObjectTexture.cpp
Line: 381
Function: void __cdecl ObjectTexture::GLEnsureLoaded(struct ObjectTexture::GLTextureInstance *)
Build: release 100 (64-bit) checked
Component: Construct 2 IDE
(Last Win32 error: 2)

You are using a 'checked' release of Construct 2, intended for testing, which causes certain errors to be reported this way. Hit Ctrl+C to copy this messagebox - it's useful information for the developers, so please include it with any bug reports! Click 'Abort' to quit (unsaved data will be lost!),'Retry' to turn off messages for this session and continue, or 'Ignore' to continue normally.
---------------------------
Abort   Retry   Ignore   
---------------------------
firebelly2012-08-24 16:44:23
B
30
S
10
G
7
Posts: 416
Reputation: 7,239

Post » Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:19 pm

Hi guys I am experiencing the same problem.

Error message




What my project looks like in browser with placeholders and no images.




All the animation folders for my projects are empty.
These projects worked fine in r99. I can load a project in no problem but when I save the project in r100 and try to load it into the IDE again all these images are said to not be loading. I also check the folders where they should be and the folders are empty so the images seem not to have been saved in r100.boredbash2012-08-27 23:45:24
B
6
Posts: 16
Reputation: 882

Post » Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:24 pm

same error in line 205 apears in the log to me... the exactly same error....and all sprites are crashed too, no imgs load...
Ill take a pause here, waiting a solution... "worried"
B
22
S
2
G
5
Posts: 49
Reputation: 4,827

Post » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:54 pm

As long as everyone uses dropbox or TFS or git, we are all fine. This is a perfect example of why we have source control or backups :)

I think we all should expected there to be some major hiccups in a major release like this.

That said, have you tried saving to new directories and then back to your main? I did something like that and it worked at least once. I am hold out until a new release before I play with it again.

B
30
S
10
G
7
Posts: 416
Reputation: 7,239

Post » Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:48 am

Here too, I saved as project and can't open the .caproj. I go to the Animations folder, and all objects' animations are empty
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,134

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest