r106 (Awesomium not working on other PCs)

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:38 pm

I have sent out my game to about 10 people and the EXE file is only working on two computers.
Everyone is running Windows 7

One of them sent me screen shots of the process and also showing the files that are packaged in the zip that I sent them.









This is what some of them are saying:

"APPCRASH is what the problem is titled"

"when i run it as an admin, and try to troubleshoot the problem, it says that data.bin is missing or empty
but i can see it, so it must be empty"

"when i go to start the program, the awesomium process appears, but the game wont play"NotionGames2012-10-11 21:39:43
Image
B
57
S
14
G
6
Posts: 493
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:12 am

It's difficult to do anything about this without a .capx that reproduces the problem. Also it may be something that Awesomium need to resolve rather than us.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:10 am

ok is there a way i can privately send you a capx?
its pretty much my entire game file. And is Awesomium incompatible/unstable with certain plugins?
Image
B
57
S
14
G
6
Posts: 493
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:54 pm

Just had a similar problem with the exe for my game, but I think it is something on Awesomium's side, and it seems to be an intermittent problem as well as it worked fine yesterday.

First time I ran the exe, I got an AppCrash
[code]
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name:     APPCRASH
Application Name:     Panda Hunt.exe
Application Version:     0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp:     50743996
Fault Module Name:     awesomium.dll
Fault Module Version:     0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp:     506cc8f5
Exception Code:     c0000005
Exception Offset:     009f335a
OS Version:     6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID:     2057
Additional Information 1:     0a9e
Additional Information 2:     0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3:     0a9e
Additional Information 4:     0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
[/code]

Second time I ran the exe, it worked fine until I exited (no problem exiting previously)
[code]
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name:     BEX
Application Name:     Panda Hunt.exe
Application Version:     0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp:     50743996
Fault Module Name:     StackHash_0a9e
Fault Module Version:     0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp:     00000000
Exception Offset:     02240c18
Exception Code:     c0000005
Exception Data:     00000008
OS Version:     6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID:     2057
Additional Information 1:     0a9e
Additional Information 2:     0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3:     0a9e
Additional Information 4:     0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt[/code]

I ran the exe a third time and had no problem starting or exiting the game.

I'll pass on the errors to the awesomium devs and see what they say.
Vote for all the Construct 2 games on Steam Greenlight - Find them here
B
27
S
7
G
4
Posts: 314
Reputation: 4,928

Post » Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:38 pm

This definitely looks like an Awesomium issue, because it's crashing in awesomium.dll. Best contact Awesomium about it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:43 am

have tried a game on 3 different pcs with windows xp.
as i dont think there is a major difference why the games are working or not working there or in win7 i post it in this thread.

r106 is the best version so far with the awesomium exporter !
but like i read in the forum and can confirm, its still missing some
compatability and stabiliy.

1. on every tried computer i have to start the .exe twice before it starts the game.

2. on one pc it crashes on exit with an error message

3.

ati x1950 (catalyst 10.2 latest for that card) got for the first time with the exporter full speed like mentioned in other threads, with and without webgl ! so thanks for that, its a huge difference in fps

ati 4679 (catalyst 10.3, not latest driver for that card) has not webgl support and the mentioned slower than chrome performance.

intel extreme integrated (latest driver) no webgl and slower than chrome.

the vsync problem is there with the ati 4670 and intel extreme. so i would say its somehow related. when vsync is not working its looking
like playing a console game on tv with vsync disabled, if someone knows this effect of unregular updating and lagging picture. not like disabling vsync in pc games when getting more fps and only seeing the picture update.

anyway r106 has so far the best support of hardware, would be great if the next stable version could expand on this



B
4
S
1
G
4
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,649

Post » Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:54 pm

@makedit - Awesomium exports from r106 should force WebGL on all the time regardless of the graphics card. How are you determining that WebGL is disabled on these cards?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:58 am

@Ashley
just tried this:

set text to renderer, webgl on, then exported awesomium.
the hd4670 with catalyst 10.3 still says canvas2d (of course thats what the conclusion was before, because the fps behaved like a crippled canvas2d without vsync)

to compare, r106 is the FIRST version that works with webgl enabled on the x1950. before it didnt start with webgl but worked very buggy with canvas2d, somehow similar to the other setups only worse (picture bug).
now that the x1950 is working - there is is about twice the difference in fps when i enable webgl and export with awesomium.
without webgl enabled i get half the fps with awesomium but still really playable and working about 50-60fps (like chrome with canvas2d, no bugs, no shaders)


if i had to guess - something about detection, blacklisting or initialising, maybe smartshader support detection ?

"Awesomium exports from r106 should force WebGL on all the time regardless of the graphics card."
hehe i would prefer if the option of canvas2d stays - both awesomium builds work pretty good on the x1950. (beside from the other problem with startup and crashing on exit)makedit2012-10-16 03:00:24
B
4
S
1
G
4
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,649

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:08 pm

I cannot get anything to run in WebGL with Awesomium in 109 or higher. It seems to force Canvas2d without errors. I have two test rigs one XP SP3 with a Radeon HD 6850 and te latest catalyst. I have a Windows 7 box with Nvidia 550 ti and it refuses to use WEbGL as well. Just thought I would report this. Deffinatly still happening in 111. I know this is probably an Awesomium bug...Gillis2012-12-06 23:09:52
Image
B
35
S
13
G
9
Posts: 142
Reputation: 7,340


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest