r114 Add event / action

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sat Dec 29, 2012 9:53 pm

Dear Construct team, here is a link to the file the bug started out with: https://www.dropbox.com/s/j3m2ra4zyw0zfic/PingPong.capx

I added a subevent that tests if y is less or equal to ball's (obj) Y position. When I then clicked "Add action", Construct crashed, and when I tried other files etc. it happened as well. In short, the program freezes everytime I click "Add action" and "Add event", which makes it a serious bug.

I use the latest Chrome webbrowser with Windows 7 64-bit (latest update) with a fully updated graphics driver as well. I have obviously tried to restart my laptop twice without any luck.

It's quite random that it happened, because I have used Construct for some days without having problems with this.
I'd however like to add that Construct has been crashing when pressing alt + 4 (browser preview) from the day i started (r114). This has however not been as bad, because I could just restart the program, and it only happened once in a while, but this happens no matter what.
B
10
S
2
G
2
Posts: 27
Reputation: 1,920

Post » Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:03 pm

No problem or crash for me. I've opened your .capx and can add actions, and events with no problem.

The symptoms you describe are generally nothing to do with C2 but a conflict on your own system, usually graphic or system driver issue.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,841
Reputation: 48,283

Post » Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:28 pm

I have installed the latest graphics driver, and reinstalled CC2 without any luck, but I can see if there are any system driver updates. If not, then I suspect it's CC2.
B
10
S
2
G
2
Posts: 27
Reputation: 1,920

Post » Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:28 am

Check this and that blog articles.

What is your graphic card ?

When you talk about previous versions of C2, are those stable or beta ?
Kyatric2013-01-01 00:29:31
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:33 pm

Thanks for the links! I don't know the excact type because it was my brother's PC, and I don't have it anymore, but it was from Intel.

I have only been using the latest release of CC2.

I'm currently working with an old HP PC with Windows XP installed, and it works much better on this one. The only problem now is that the preview (alt+4) doesn't work in Chrome (it just loads forever), but it works in Firefox though.
B
10
S
2
G
2
Posts: 27
Reputation: 1,920

Post » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:47 pm

XP isn't the better choice for C2 imo, but it's still better than nothing and I know it's not always possible to upgrade to better hardware/software.
Ajnytime you have the opportunity to switch to a more recent computer and win7, don't hesitate ^^

For the loading issue, maybe try pressing F5 or ctrl+F5 to force reload. The browser might then catch the local server and display the game correctly.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:23 pm

It works great on my XP for now, but I haven't tried making any hardcore, graphics intensive games yet, so I can see the issue it may cause on a 32-bit XP.

Regarding Chrome, it works now! I don't know how it was fixed though.
B
10
S
2
G
2
Posts: 27
Reputation: 1,920

Post » Mon Jan 07, 2013 4:05 pm

@chrisriis: what service pack of XP are you using? We only support SP3 for Windows XP.

I think this can be closed as an issue with your computer anyway, since this is the only report we've had and I'm sure we'd be inundated with reports if it was a problem with C2 that affected everyone.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests