[r145-146] node-webkit audio volume bug

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 2:14 pm

Link to .capx file (required!):
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2383513/linkedOUT/MusicGainTest3.capx
(example by @blackhornet )


Steps to reproduce:
1. Make a function that slowly lowers the music, and makes another music play after it's done.

Observed result:
Should work, as it works in Chrome and IE. Also works perfectly on r144.1.

Expected result:
First song volume goes down and it stops playing as intended, but the next song never plays.

Browsers affected:
Chrome: no
Internet Explorer: no
Node-Webkit: Yes

Operating system & service pack:
Win8 64bits

Construct 2 version:
Tested on both r145 and r146andreyin2013-10-02 15:11:14
B
122
S
42
G
40
Posts: 846
Reputation: 27,994

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:41 pm

Huh. I thought this would be a C2 bug, since it broke after the update, but apparently it's a problem with this event line:



The logic is that, if MusicB volume is 0db, it resets the fade variables. Apparently C2 thinks that MusicB volume IS 0db, even though I just told it to start playing the song at -30db.

I'm unsure if it's a bug in C2 or the code, now...

I did fix it by doing this:



B
122
S
42
G
40
Posts: 846
Reputation: 27,994

Post » Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:08 am

@andreyin

There is a bug in it somewhere. My in game music for Insanity's Blade is now in mono and continues playing after you restart a layout and overlaps etc etc. I'm testing only in Node WebKit. My only line of code is the Audio tag with Play "songname" looping from Music at 1dB (tag levelX).

It also doesn't play right away. Had no problems with it until this build.

Is this what's happening to you as well?
B
47
S
12
G
7
Posts: 341
Reputation: 7,953

Post » Thu Oct 03, 2013 2:01 am

@damainman

I have yet to test if it's mono, but yeah, there's a small delay when beggining to play a song (more noticiable at the beggining of the game).

Something funny I noticed, apparently you can't have anything louder than 0db now. In the capx I posted, if you try to make it louder than 0db, nothing happens.
B
122
S
42
G
40
Posts: 846
Reputation: 27,994

Post » Thu Oct 03, 2013 11:16 pm

Yes there is a bug.

144,2 is perfect.

146 the music has delay when start layout. When the layout is restarted, play 2 musics same times and 3 and 4...

See exemplo that I did. Same project exported with different versions. Go outside layout.

http://www.4shared.com/rar/ix1AqLfz/win32_144_2.html

http://www.4shared.com/rar/iLoLth45/win32_146.htmlGamePower TV2013-10-03 23:18:45
B
17
S
5
G
1
Posts: 35
Reputation: 1,956

Post » Fri Oct 04, 2013 1:59 pm

When start layout (exported to node-webkit), the music play after 1 second. In the Run layout have no this problem.

Heeeeeeelppppppp!!

Rodrigo
BrasilGamePower TV2013-10-04 14:12:09
B
17
S
5
G
1
Posts: 35
Reputation: 1,956

Post » Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:40 pm

OK so this is a bug. I can stop checking my code line by line to understand why my music is played twice or cut. ^^
B
70
S
21
G
12
Posts: 314
Reputation: 12,061

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:25 am

I think Node-Webkit Audio is broken in many ways."seeking" doesn't seem to be working either.
B
43
S
5
G
5
Posts: 410
Reputation: 5,742

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:45 am

[QUOTE=andreyin]Something funny I noticed, apparently you can't have anything louder than 0db now. In the capx I posted, if you try to make it louder than 0db, nothing happens.[/QUOTE] @andreyin I've noticed quite a few issues with the audio plugin, this being one. While it makes sense for the master volume (in the digital domain 0dB is the maximum loudness possible), it renders gaining effects useless. You can't even amplify with filter effects, whose purpose is to do exactly that
Also seeking sometimes works and sometimes not. This is true for previewing as well as exporting to web.
One issue I had was the doubling of a sound that I could only reproduce in one specific capx only.
Yes, there are quite a few issues with audio.
Image
B
24
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,821
Reputation: 8,279

Post » Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:09 pm

I've reverted some node-webkit specific changes we made to the Audio object recently. Now it works the same as it does in Chrome. Hopefully that means everything's sorted for the next build.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,248
Reputation: 192,228

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest