r147 - WebGL error, Assertion Failed

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sat Oct 12, 2013 2:16 am

Link to .capx file (required!):
My account is too new to post link, but you can download the capx at:
dropbox dot com/s/56j7pje4tipzgrs/r147_webgl_bug.capx

Steps to reproduce:
1. Create an empty project, add a sprite.
2. Give it the effect "set color".
3. Give it the effect "water background"
4. Make sure "water background" is the second effect.
5. Run the project and observe crash.

Not all effects cause the bug, but it seems like if a distortion effect is second on the list and a color effect is first, it happens. Sphere and Water Background are the two distortions I got the bug with, when combined with nearly any other effect.

Observed result:
Error message at runtime stating: "Assertion failure: Warning: set rendering to current texture 1"

Expected result:
Effects applied and no error message appears.

Browsers affected:
Chrome: yes
Firefox: yes
Internet Explorer: No? I have IE10, doesn't appear to apply any WebGL effects.

Operating system & service pack:
Win7x64 home prem, sp1

Construct 2 version:
r147 beta
    Scavengrove2013-10-12 05:40:44
B
7
S
1
Posts: 20
Reputation: 388

Post » Sat Oct 12, 2013 10:13 am

Since r147, I've got that error too when my game load a layout. (and I use several webGL fx)
B
71
S
21
G
12
Posts: 314
Reputation: 12,086

Post » Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:17 am

Same issue as of r147.
B
71
S
41
G
24
Posts: 518
Reputation: 20,195

Post » Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:26 am

Got the same thing here, only noticed it in the latest build (r147)though. Also when I export to my Galaxy Note 8.0, the effects stop working, but they work fine in Chrome (31.0.1650.16 beta-m), but still give me the error message.
Using R243 for all examples
B
69
S
20
G
6
Posts: 379
Reputation: 9,699

Post » Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:38 pm

FYI just in case you're trying to reproduce them
these errors appeared ussing r0j0hound's paster plugin v0.3
he fixed it in v0.4

these were the errors:

[CODE]
Assertion failure: Warning: set rendering to current texture 0

Stack trace:
[email protected]://localhost:50000/preview_prelude.js:12
[email protected]://localhost:50000/glwrap.js:1503
[email protected]://localhost:50000/rojoPaster_plugin.js:353
[email protected]://localhost:50000/eveng.js:1644
[email protected]://localhost:50000/eveng.js:846
[email protected]://localhost:50000/eveng.js:1001
[email protected]://localhost:50000/system.js:600
[email protected]://localhost:50000/eveng.js:1172
[email protected]://localhost:50000/eveng.js:785
[email protected]://localhost:50000/eveng.js:187
[email protected]://localhost:50000/preview.js:1838
[email protected]://localhost:50000/preview.js:1517
[email protected]://localhost:50000/preview.js:1402
[email protected]://localhost:50000/preview.js:1255
Runtime.prototype.go/</<@http://localhost:50000/preview.js:1324
[/CODE]

[CODE]
Assertion failure: Warning: set rendering to current texture 0

Stack trace:
[email protected]://localhost:50000/preview_prelude.js:12
[email protected]://localhost:50000/glwrap.js:1503
[email protected]://localhost:50000/rojoPaster_plugin.js:353
[email protected]://localhost:50000/eveng.js:1644
[email protected]://localhost:50000/eveng.js:846
[email protected]://localhost:50000/eveng.js:805
[email protected]://localhost:50000/eveng.js:187
[email protected]://localhost:50000/preview.js:1838
[email protected]://localhost:50000/preview.js:1517
@http://localhost:50000/preview.js:430

[/CODE]


ghost2013-10-15 18:43:41
B
12
S
3
G
1
Posts: 347
Reputation: 2,866

Post » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:06 pm

@ghost @Ashley
My error was a bit different. It was caused by trying to render to the current texture used for drawing. It may have been a false positive as everything worked fine apart from the assert. I corrected it by using glw.setTexture(null); before setting the render target.

Oh, and in the case of my plugin the situation was easy to recreate. If the plugin was the last object to be drawn then any actions that draw to a texture would cause the assert.

For what I can tell "texture 1" is a bit different but I think it may be a false positive as well since the texture will be changed to something different anyway and won't be used for drawing.
B
91
S
31
G
103
Posts: 5,241
Reputation: 67,768

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:42 am

You're probably right; the bug appears only in preview mode for me.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 20
Reputation: 388

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:14 pm

This is fixed in the next build.

@R0J0hound - note the new assert checks are because in those cases IE11's WebGL stops rendering. It's complaint with the standards, since having the same render texture and current texture set has undefined behavior according to the OpenGL ES spec; it worked in Chrome and Firefox but we shouldn't have relied on it, and those new asserts are automatically checking you're not doing that.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,464

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 6:19 pm

@Ashley
Ok, cool, that's good to know. I was unaware of the spec.
B
91
S
31
G
103
Posts: 5,241
Reputation: 67,768


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests