R169 Error when export with minify option enabled.

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri May 09, 2014 5:46 pm

Problem Description
I will get error when trying to export with minify option enabled, it is ok if it is disabled. The error message are:-
---------------------------
Construct 2 Check failure
---------------------------
Check failure! This is probably a bug:

Minifier did not output a file

Condition: FileExists(min_js)
File: html5.cpp
Line: 1677
Function: void __cdecl Exporter::DoExport(class era::IProject *,class era::ILayout *,bool,struct HWND__ *,bool,bool)
Build: release 169 (64-bit) checked
Component: HTML5 exporter
(Last Win32 error: 2)

You are using a 'checked' release of Construct 2, intended for testing, which causes certain errors to be reported this way. Hit Ctrl+C to copy this messagebox - it's useful information for the developers, so please include it with any bug reports! Click 'Abort' to quit (unsaved data will be lost!),'Retry' to turn off messages for this session and continue, or 'Ignore' to continue normally.
---------------------------
Abort Retry Ignore
---------------------------


Attach a Capx
No need capx. I just open Contruct 2 , create new empty project (without anything in it) and try to export with minify enabled.

Description of Capx
No need capx. Just use "New empty project" template when creating new project.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Open construct 2 (In admin mode)
  • Create empty project
  • Try to export with minify enabled.

Observed Result
Error when trying to export empty project like I mention above.


Expected Result
Project is successfully export with minify enabled.

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: NA
  • FireFox: NA
  • Internet Explorer: NA

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 8.1 64 Bit

Construct 2 Version ID
R169
B
76
S
22
G
14
Posts: 389
Reputation: 12,249

Post » Sat May 10, 2014 9:07 am

plus one
B
108
S
26
G
268
Posts: 4,456
Reputation: 150,247

Post » Sat May 10, 2014 3:21 pm

Yep, it's busted.
B
75
S
28
G
32
Posts: 481
Reputation: 19,713

Post » Sun May 11, 2014 1:28 am

Indeed, it still creates a "C2_runtime_tmp.js" file. Renaming by removing the "_tmp" allows the game to work, nevertheless, there is the check failure on HTML5 website export.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
289
S
112
G
94
Posts: 7,333
Reputation: 69,293

Post » Mon May 12, 2014 4:09 pm

Can't reproduce, an empty project minifies just fine. Is your version of Java up to date?
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
233
G
88
Posts: 24,376
Reputation: 193,842

Post » Mon May 12, 2014 4:19 pm

Hi @Ashley

Are you using java 8 ? What version are you using because it does seems to effect some people. I`m using version R168 without any problem. Should I install java 8 ?
B
76
S
22
G
14
Posts: 389
Reputation: 12,249

Post » Mon May 12, 2014 4:21 pm

If I run:

java -version

in a command prompt, it says "1.7.0_09". We updated the Closure Compiler (a java app used to minify the code on export) in r169, and it's possible they changed the version it depends on without us knowing. Let me know what version of Java you have and if updating it fixes it.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
233
G
88
Posts: 24,376
Reputation: 193,842

Post » Mon May 12, 2014 4:43 pm

@Ashley

Yup

I`m on 1.6.0.43. I`ve installed latest JDK 7 update55 and now it works.

However I remembered reading tutorial here and other android tutorial on other sites, if you want to jarsigned and zipaligned apk, we have to stick to old version JAVA6, java7 wont let the apk installed or black screen or something.

I guess just need to set JAVA_HOME and Path to old jdk ? Hopefully it wont cause any other problem having two version installed.
B
76
S
22
G
14
Posts: 389
Reputation: 12,249

Post » Mon May 12, 2014 9:22 pm

@Ashley was the java update necessary? Sorry for asking but I'm also building Android APK's (different game engine) on this computer and I can't update Java to 1.7 because it crashes compiling to APK. I have to stick to Java 1.6.
Is it possible to get back to previous version of java in Closure Compiler in Construct 2?
B
55
S
14
G
10
Posts: 287
Reputation: 7,677

Post » Wed May 14, 2014 7:45 am

Anyone developing for Android can't update their java because of the black screen issues it causes on signed games.
B
44
S
5
G
5
Posts: 412
Reputation: 5,771

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests