R170 Exported file is broken on mobile device browsers

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:23 pm

Closing as it appears fixed in the next build (direct export of your .capx here: http://www.scirra.com/labs/runnertest/, works in Chrome/Android and Safari/iOS 7.1). I haven't changed anything specifically for this but I think it was related to the spritesheet off-by-one bug in exporting, which probably threw off mobile browsers for some reason.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,368
Reputation: 193,746

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:03 am

Ashley wrote:Closing as it appears fixed in the next build (direct export of your .capx here: http://www.scirra.com/labs/runnertest/, works in Chrome/Android and Safari/iOS 7.1). I haven't changed anything specifically for this but I think it was related to the spritesheet off-by-one bug in exporting, which probably threw off mobile browsers for some reason.


Hey Ashley,

Its runnable now but there still seems to be an issue with the native browsers on some older devices where if you rotate the phone to portrait mode you get two screens of the same game running (a seperate canvas is placed directly above, its as if the exported file is running twice with two seperate canvas's). In landscape there's a portion in the front that's cut off. i can record a video testing the game on a mobile device if you'd like. This problem still appears on all my lower end android devices (on native browser only with Samsung S3,S2,galaxy nexus)).

The Construct 2 R168 didn't have these issues with older devices
B
18
S
4
G
3
Posts: 436
Reputation: 4,801

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:08 am

@Ashley

One of the FGL members seems to have a solution. I think they'll contact you directly and if not then I'll forward you the link. I checked my email this morning and it seems I received a ton from scirra members asking what to do for publisher branding for games not being accepted due to this bug. I simply told them to downgrade to R168 until a solution comes by but it seems there's already a temporary fix.
B
18
S
4
G
3
Posts: 436
Reputation: 4,801

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:19 am

Thank goodness these issues are being fixed quickly. (as usually.... Your update and bug-fix speed is awesome Ashley :) )

-Mike
B
49
S
9
G
4
Posts: 426
Reputation: 7,041

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:25 pm

@retrodude - is that happening in Chrome for Android or the stock browser? The stock browser sucks really bad and it would not surprise me if that was a glitch in the browser itself. It doesn't sound like the kind of thing that we can easily work around.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,368
Reputation: 193,746

Post » Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:01 pm

Ashley wrote:@retrodude - is that happening in Chrome for Android or the stock browser? The stock browser sucks really bad and it would not surprise me if that was a glitch in the browser itself. It doesn't sound like the kind of thing that we can easily work around.


It's only for stock browser. Chrome runs fine, same with firefox. The issue is that large publishers like spilgames still require you to have games working on native stock browser for older devices like the S3. And yea it blows since stock browser is so buggy it's annoying. The R168 version of construct has the exported file working fine on stock browser. I think for publishing it might be best to currently use this version.

There were some drastic changes in the two new updates so it's hard to tell what could be causing it.

Here's a link to a odd work around:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1827 ... -in-chrome

"$('canvas').css('opacity', '0.99');"

This portion here causes an odd flickering with values at 0.99, so changing it to 0.999999 opacity is kind of a temporary fix. I'll see if I can place a temporary fix in the manual section. But I recommend just downgrading to R168 for anyone that is doing sponsorship and publishing since its quite stable and doesn't have this issue.
B
18
S
4
G
3
Posts: 436
Reputation: 4,801

Post » Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:05 pm

Hi!
It's only for stock browser. Chrome runs fine, same with firefox. The issue is that large publishers like spilgames still require you to have games working on native stock browser for older devices like the S3. And yea it blows since stock browser is so buggy it's annoying. The R168 version of construct has the exported file working fine on stock browser. I think for publishing it might be best to currently use this version.


Yes, publishers do not buy my game because of this bug. Returned by 168 version. Ashley, fix this bug in the next builds please!!!
B
6
Posts: 3
Reputation: 481

Post » Fri Jul 11, 2014 5:17 pm

retrodude wrote:Its runnable now but there still seems to be an issue with the native browsers on some older devices where if you rotate the phone to portrait mode you get two screens of the same game running (a seperate canvas is placed directly above, its as if the exported file is running twice with two seperate canvas's). In landscape there's a portion in the front that's cut off. i can record a video testing the game on a mobile device if you'd like. This problem still appears on all my lower end android devices (on native browser only with Samsung S3,S2,galaxy nexus)).

The Construct 2 R168 didn't have these issues with older devices


I'll wait for angry messages from sponsors >.<
B
3
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 308

Previous

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests