[r181] C2 is laggy, jerky

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Sep 23, 2014 3:43 pm

Problem Description
In release 181, Construct 2 has become unusable for my large project - I'm on a very powerful machine, but doing any actions in the layout view OR the event sheet view causes constant 0.5-1 second freezes. My laptop fan flares up like crazy during these freezes.

I've tested both r180 and r181 with the same project, on the same machine, one right after the other, with no other apps running. The difference is huge.

I've uploaded a video to show you what the freezes look like.

Here's the video.

Affected Browsers
N/A

Operating System and Service Pack
Win 8.1 64bit

Construct 2 Version ID
r181
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Tue Sep 23, 2014 3:58 pm

I can confirm the results shown in the video. Whenever I scroll, it hangs regularly. My hangs aren't quite as long as sqid's, but still significant. This didn't happen in previous releases.
B
103
S
38
G
19
Posts: 962
Reputation: 17,986


Post » Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:55 pm

@Ashley my project uses a ton of third party plugins and a third party shader. Are you able to look at the project without having them?
@C-7 do you use third party plugins/shaders? Maybe you could send your project.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:38 pm

Well since it's an editor problem, can't you reproduce the problem still if you just delete off all the third party plugins? Doesn't matter if the game doesn't run/make sense.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
229
G
87
Posts: 24,245
Reputation: 192,160

Post » Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:10 pm

@Ashley All right, it's just that I have to manually delete every level that has the shader. Shouldn't be too much of a , just a bit time consuming.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:09 pm

sqiddster wrote:@Ashley my project uses a ton of third party plugins and a third party shader. Are you able to look at the project without having them?
@C-7 do you use third party plugins/shaders? Maybe you could send your project.


(EDITED) Now that I look at my list, I've got several third party plugins and shaders in use. I'll try to strip it out. We'll see who gets it done first.
B
103
S
38
G
19
Posts: 962
Reputation: 17,986

Post » Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:56 pm

@C-7 I've managed to do it (I think) and I've sent Ashley an email. You can look at the .caproj in a notepad editor to show exactly what third party elements you are using.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,679

Post » Wed Sep 24, 2014 6:39 pm

sqiddster wrote:@C-7 I've managed to do it (I think) and I've sent Ashley an email. You can look at the .caproj in a notepad editor to show exactly what third party elements you are using.


That's how I was doing it, but it was time-consuming tracking down everything (a couple behaviors, too, it seems), but I'm glad you got it done!
B
103
S
38
G
19
Posts: 962
Reputation: 17,986

Post » Wed Sep 24, 2014 11:44 pm

I am also having this issue. If I select a lot of objects in the editor screen and then click a tab at the top to enter a new layout Construct will freeze up for up to a minute.
B
15
S
2
Posts: 72
Reputation: 1,249

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest