R186 Problem!. Error running a layout

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:46 am

michael wrote:Yeah same problem, but as is always the case Ashley will fix it pronto.

Always remember to make backup before opening in latest beta, this is the nature of beta testing !! ;)

That's a good point, but having backup is only one thing :D working in construct2 is so effective that in most cases it does not make much sense to work on the dated backup anymore if you've worked the idea further on a working beta release.

For example, I have been doing 10-15 hour days on the game, so reverting back to r184 does not make any sense (losing 9 days of work, around 100 hours.. that version of my game project is missing so much of the features that it would be pointless to try to remember reworking everything on it). Now I just have to focus working on the graphical assets and hope this thing gets fixed really soon or that they put beta r187 that's actually the old 185 for us poor steam users, who didn't think about this happening :/ The bright side is that now I know I have to make sure I buy traditional desktop version license key when I buy the business upgrade next year, since testing beta releases on steam puts your project just on too much of a risk :lol:
B
14
S
3
G
1
Posts: 78
Reputation: 1,037

Post » Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:01 pm

@striimix, yeah, I work simikar hours also, we are hooked! ;) - but that is why backups are essential!
What I do as a matter of habit is make a backup at least every day, and always after major changes.
And ALWAYS before opening in new version of C2. That way you are covered when things go wrong, as they often can in beta releases.

Don't forget you have the auto save files as well.
But rest assured Ashley always fixes things pronto. Happy coding.
If it can be done, someone on the web will show you how to do it!

CDASI Games Mentality Break Splat-a-bug FlapFleet Challenge
B
35
S
13
G
7
Posts: 363
Reputation: 7,283

Post » Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:14 pm

Yep, having the same problems - something is seriously broken in this version.
B
45
S
11
G
4
Posts: 517
Reputation: 7,398

Post » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:00 pm

Apparently Ashley fixed this now.
B
13
S
4
G
1
Posts: 241
Reputation: 1,724

Post » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:14 pm

Closing as fixed in r186.2.
Scirra Founder
B
400
S
237
G
89
Posts: 24,550
Reputation: 195,537

Post » Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:19 pm

Thank you @Ashley
B
10
S
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 528

Post » Sat Nov 01, 2014 12:58 pm

@volkiller730 solution here-->https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/442/how-to-revert-your-project-to-an-earlier-version-of-construct-2 or even better download R186.2 from scirra beta update.
Hire or Offer a project

Portfolio

Scirra new Shop
B
34
S
5
G
1
Posts: 118
Reputation: 2,663

Previous

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest