R198 Doppler effect bug?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:47 pm

Hello,

I've installed the R198 version and discovered something strange with my positioned sounds, like if there was a dopller effect on them. (but I don't use that effect)
And I see in the patch note that the doppler effect is no longer supported and has been removed.
So I'm wondering what is going on with my sounds. Is that a bug ?
Anyone noticed that too ?

EDIT : Here is a video to show the effect on the saw sound.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRNreK0xbLc&feature=youtu.be
B
65
S
19
G
12
Posts: 314
Reputation: 11,736

Post » Mon Mar 02, 2015 8:59 pm

Ironically, I had only just posted on the patch note that it was ironic how Ashley was like "Don't worry, Google knows what they're doing" yet we had effects removed because of them, and now this happens.


Do you use any audio effects? Try systematically disabling all your events and turning them on one sheet at a time, might fun what's causing the bug.

Off topic: I've also gotten bugs in my game, but only when I've uploaded an HTML5 preview.
The moderators are corrupt and ban for no reason, especially that condescending neckbeard asshole Kyatric. The forums are filled with fanboys.
Banned User
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 558
Reputation: 2,925

Post » Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:20 pm

KaMiZoTo wrote:Hello,

I've installed the R198 version and discovered something strange with my positioned sounds, like if there was a dopller effect on them. (but I don't use that effect)
And I see in the patch note that the doppler effect is no longer supported and has been removed.
So I'm wondering what is going on with my sounds. Is that a bug ?
Anyone noticed that too ?

EDIT : Here is a video to show the effect on the saw sound.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRNreK0xbLc&feature=youtu.be


After upgrading C2 I also got bad results with positional audio in an existing project (delay, distortion), so I changed them all to non-positional.. lucky for my project it's not a big deal.

edit: this was in preview in Chrome, but it previously worked fine in preview
B
24
S
9
G
4
Posts: 1,646
Reputation: 6,596

Post » Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:27 pm

@Nesteris I have no audio effect on the sounds.

May be I should make a bug report about that. This is so strange.
B
65
S
19
G
12
Posts: 314
Reputation: 11,736

Post » Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:22 pm

goddamn, im using positional audio like crazy... :( actually liked the doppler stuff too as it added some variety to the sound as you were wizzing by something shooting at you. now i dread the update and how busted its going to make my game. :(
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
25
S
7
G
3
Posts: 375
Reputation: 4,847

Post » Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:57 pm

Should just pick a build and stick with it, lest your game get wrecked by updates and further broken NW.js builds.

@80bit
Get Audacity or Adobe Audition and put the doppler effect in the clips themselves, instead of using the engine.
The moderators are corrupt and ban for no reason, especially that condescending neckbeard asshole Kyatric. The forums are filled with fanboys.
Banned User
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 558
Reputation: 2,925

Post » Tue Mar 03, 2015 4:33 am

@Nesteris

well the benefit of having positional / doppler'ed' sound is that i dont need to generate an infinite number of possible variations of the sound effect for different scenarios... the audio engine handles it all. the doppler effect was directly related to the relationship of the sound to the source listener, there would be no feasible way to get that back on the same level with hard-filtered wav files, without spending 3 lifetimes programming it and another 7 preparing the 8gb of wave files required for such a thing. :P
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
25
S
7
G
3
Posts: 375
Reputation: 4,847

Post » Tue Mar 03, 2015 12:25 pm

Are you sure you're not just hearing the lack of doppler sounds? The previous default was to have a fairly subtle default doppler effect, and now this is removed. So now it will sound slightly different because it will be playing at a steady pitch instead of a slightly varying pitch.

I'm not happy that Google removed this feature, because their rationale sounded pretty weak. I think they just don't want to have to support it or something. But I don't want to have features in C2 that don't work in major browsers, so it's being removed from C2 accordingly.
Scirra Founder
B
373
S
218
G
84
Posts: 23,525
Reputation: 186,342

Post » Tue Mar 03, 2015 2:01 pm

@Ashley Well, I don't use Doppler in my game. For me, the positionned sound would just adjust the volume depending on its position. But with the R198, something else is happening.
Here is a little capx I have done. It's funny. :)

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/13847313/Scirra/PositionedSoundBug.capx

Tell me what you think. Is it a bug due to the removal of the doppler, even not used,, or is it working 'as intended' for a positioned sound?
B
65
S
19
G
12
Posts: 314
Reputation: 11,736

Post » Tue Mar 03, 2015 5:07 pm

@KaMiZoTo , this is a great looking game you are making, and I loved the storytelling aspect of it! Bravo!

There is definitely something wrong with the advance audio, your example illustrates that very clearly!
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
60
S
24
G
4
Posts: 1,137
Reputation: 9,161

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: corlenbelspar, Xam and 5 guests