[r214] Video loaded and paused doesn't show.

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Oct 05, 2015 9:34 am

Problem Description
Video not showing when loaded and paused.

Attach a Capx
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/109921357/Video%20not%20showing/Video_showing_bug.capx
Test video:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/109921357/Video%20not%20showing/Test_1.webm


Description of Capx
Press a button and load a video.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
1. Press button to load a video
The video wont appear.

2. Activate the wait 0.2 between the set source and the pause and the video appears. However depending on the video loaded, the wait might not solve the problem.

Observed Result
After the video is loaded and then paused instantly, it will not appear even though it have been loaded.

Expected Result
That the video would show up in the window paused. Since there is a functionality to make the video object invisible, it should by default always be visible.

ps. Wouldn't post this if there was a viable workaround, but can't seem to find one that is reliable, as it changes based on video loaded. So would be greatly appreciated if this could get into the next update.

Affected Browsers
NWjs.

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 7

Construct 2 Version ID
r214
B
44
S
11
G
2
Posts: 1,182
Reputation: 6,848

Post » Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:00 am

Not sure whether a bug or not, but if you add the action 'video-> Play' then it plays ok.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
136
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,492
Reputation: 60,270

Post » Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:25 am

zenox98 wrote:Not sure whether a bug or not, but if you add the action 'video-> Play' then it plays ok.

Yeah I know, but I need it to be paused. That's why the semi workaround with putting in a wait works when autoplay is activated, as it makes it play for 0.2s and then pause it. However it shouldn't be necessary and it is a unreliable solution as it only works sometimes. And besides that, I think its a valid point that since this video object have an visible/invisible setting, it should be made sure that its always visible and then you can just change this option if needed.

But it seems like the video source is not loaded/updated correctly or something if the video is paused, when the source is set.
B
44
S
11
G
2
Posts: 1,182
Reputation: 6,848

Post » Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:37 am

Sorry (maybe a bit slow today) but doesn't the manual state that after setting the source the video would be paused and would need the 'Play' action to start it?

Set source
Set a different video file to play. As with the object properties, three formats can be specified. Setting the source does not automatically start playing the video; use the Play action to start it after changing the source.


So wouldn't this mean it's working correctly?
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
136
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,492
Reputation: 60,270

Post » Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:23 am

zenox98 wrote:Sorry (maybe a bit slow today) but doesn't the manual state that after setting the source the video would be paused and would need the 'Play' action to start it?

Set source
Set a different video file to play. As with the object properties, three formats can be specified. Setting the source does not automatically start playing the video; use the Play action to start it after changing the source.


So wouldn't this mean it's working correctly?

No, it means that the manual is not very precise or correct regarding this :D

Because it doesn't matter whether you change source or not. If Autoplay is set to "Yes" it will play whenever a source is set.
B
44
S
11
G
2
Posts: 1,182
Reputation: 6,848

Post » Mon Oct 12, 2015 4:02 pm

Closing as won't fix. When you play a video (which includes setting the source with an autoplay video, which is what you have) it can't play it immediately: it takes a moment to download and decode enough of the video to start playback (the "can play" event). The video cannot be drawn until it is playing. There is no visible/invisible setting, it is either drawing nothing because it has not loaded enough video to draw anything, or drawing the video while it's playing. If you wait 0.2 seconds, you are racing the video loading against a timer, and on slower systems it will still not display anything since you pause it before it's loaded.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,546
Reputation: 195,436


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests