r217 nw.js preview and export error (does not run)

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:29 pm

Problem Description
r217 nw.js preview and export do not open nw.js (with nwjs for v013 installed). Copying package.nw and resources.pak to 32 bit nw v13 folder from github - the exported demo runs correctly. Copying the github files into the c2 nw.js 32 bit folder permits the preview to work properly. Some files also appear to be missing from the c2 nw.js folder structure. c2 nw.js installer downloaded twice, just in case.

Attach a Capx
No need - tried platformer example.

Description of Capx
Default.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Select nw.js preview and run the layout.

Observed Result
Nothing happens, not even a background service.

Expected Result
Normal nw.js preview.

Affected Browsers
  • N/A

Operating System and Service Pack
W10 64 bit, AMD A10-5800K, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti.

Construct 2 Version ID
r217 64 bit with nwjs-for-c2-v0-13-0.exe installed.

Reverting back to previous nw.js v12 and r216 and everything works ok.
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
76
Posts: 2,296
Reputation: 47,576

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:32 pm

Works OK for me - both preview and export.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,557
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:48 pm

@zenox98 - Mmmm. I find the c2 installer omits 2 files (nw_200_percent.pak and snapshot_blob.bin) compared with github. This might be nothing....

If I compare the other files that are common between both win32 folders (between the c2/nwjs and the v13 alpha 5 from github) then they occupy different sizes on disk, so there is definitely a dfference. The github files use: 84,675,498 bytes and the c2 installed files use: 89,490,714 bytes. Something's amiss...
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
76
Posts: 2,296
Reputation: 47,576

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:50 pm

Specifically, the following files are different sizes: icudtl.dat , node.dll , nw.dll.
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
76
Posts: 2,296
Reputation: 47,576

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:00 pm

I haven't got 'nw_200_percent.pak and snapshot_blob.bin' either but it doesn't appear to affect preview or export for me.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,557
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:05 pm

Preview works for me - minus full screen support (not sure why)

Exports do not
x64 Export - Opens blank window and hangs
x32 Export - Opens blank window and hangs

I'm going to dig a bit deeper - the no full screen support leads me to believe it my be an issue with "Loader Style"

Curious @zenox98 - What are your export option settings?

Mine are as follows - (worked before update)
- Single Instance *Checked
- Window frame *Un-checked
- Resizable window *Checked
- Kiosk mode *Un-checked
Image Image Image
B
63
S
19
G
6
Posts: 325
Reputation: 7,994

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:08 pm

@facecjf - I have the first 3 checked and it works, of course, in r216 or with the github files copied over....

@zenox98 - I think this bug report should read that the c2 installed nw.js files are different to those on github.
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
76
Posts: 2,296
Reputation: 47,576

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:11 pm

I never use minify (because I refuse to install java (in)security rubbish on my system)
PNG compression is Standard
Options untouched(default) i.e. top 3 ticked, last one unticked (kiosk mode)
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,557
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:16 pm

@zenox98 I'll test without minify and play around with options. (I understand the security issue :) )

Well it's not a loader issue. I just tested the different loading options and even set it to have my game go strait to start screen. No dice on export. Same effect - Blank screen hangs

@Colludium :/ I may have to resort back to r216 and use NW.js 13 - manual install via git
Image Image Image
B
63
S
19
G
6
Posts: 325
Reputation: 7,994

Post » Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:32 pm

same here. Hitting preview on any project, even blank new empty project just shows the "Starting preview" progress bar and that's it. Need to force shut C2 from task manager.


Win 10 64bit C2 r217 and NW13
ImageImageImageImage
B
158
S
67
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 36,003

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests