[r228] Jadder/Stuttering/frame drops with platform behavior

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri May 13, 2016 3:32 am

@datapawwolf
In general any movement behavior that isn't disabled will set a Boolean in the runtime to tell it to redraw. I doubt the platform behavior is checking to see if the position has changed first. Even so that's a pointless optimization since if the behavior is enabled things should be moving.

@stachir
You could replace the platform behavior with any other movement behavior and get similar results with the draw calls. Also that bit of code just makes those buttons not pressed when the game loses focus.

Maybe look instead at the collision checks in the debugger with the platform behavior. As I recall there has been discussions about the number of them the behavior uses. Whether that's the cause of the cpu usage in your project I don't know, but if the highest usage is draw calls then it's more likely visual stuff like the number of things being drawn on screen, number of layers, effects,...etc.
B
92
S
32
G
110
Posts: 5,295
Reputation: 71,501

Post » Sat May 14, 2016 7:45 pm

With platform disabled: collision checks per sec = 0 (of course)
With platform enabled and player does not move: collision checks per sec = 100-110 (sure)
With platform enabled and player moves: collision checks per sec = 400-500 (yea, why not)

@R0J0hound
Ok, I get that all things metter- layers, number of objects and instances, effects and so on, I understand that. And maybe that is not direct impact of C2. I just would like to know, why my laptop makes frame drops running project with one layer, four objects and no effects.

With that simple project I got 60fps with disabled and 55fps with enabled platform bahavior and player stand still. Nothing much? Really? It's so simple, that such situation should hove no place at all.
Last edited by stachir on Fri May 20, 2016 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
22
S
3
G
2
Posts: 30
Reputation: 3,693

Post » Sat May 14, 2016 8:42 pm

In the debugger, check to see if your laptop is rendering using webgl or canvas2d. If the latter then your graphics driver is not supported.
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
74
S
20
G
71
Posts: 2,230
Reputation: 44,892

Post » Sat May 14, 2016 10:19 pm

@Colludium - it's webgl

I also checked template projects (like platformer temlate), and there I also noticed frame drops. Also I found that, every 1-3 seconds, there is something like 'freezing' - objects that moving stops for a microsecond and appear/'jump' in next frame in another place. I start to believe that something can be wrong with my computer, so I checked on other machine, and there is the same situation.
B
22
S
3
G
2
Posts: 30
Reputation: 3,693

Post » Sat May 14, 2016 10:43 pm

I have only 2 responses left - either:

! or

!

Seriously, though, if you're not using Chrome, nw.js or Edge then you need to upgrade... Turn off all other programs on your computer - if you're running Unity, Blender or have 30 tabs of GIMP open then that could be the cause of your trouble. If not, try pressing f12 in Chrome and record some timeline to see what might be causing your frame drops. If none of that works, you could post a capx of your test for others to try...
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
74
S
20
G
71
Posts: 2,230
Reputation: 44,892

Post » Sun May 15, 2016 1:24 pm

@Colludium
I wrote that my laptop is rendering using webgl, so my graphic card is supported
I always make tests on vanilla Chrome, with no plugins and one tab, with no other program like Unity or Blender running. This time I close antivir, and nothing happen. Same scenerio on second machine with different graphics, cpu.
Link to capx file is in first post in topic.

I checked timeline, and only thing I saw was "long frames" every 1-2 seconds, so there is some jank [#sherlock].

[update]
I also tried old fashion restart and check(http://gamedev.stackexchange.com/questi ... -4-seconds), and it did nothing much- drops happen less, but objects are still stuttering
Last edited by stachir on Sun May 15, 2016 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
22
S
3
G
2
Posts: 30
Reputation: 3,693

Post » Sun May 15, 2016 1:32 pm

I recently noticed a 1 sec jank in the simple layout I'm testing (uses a large tilemap) but this only happened when the layout was zoomed out and the whole tilemap was being rendered. I only meant my previous post as banter rather than for it to be a criticism of your testing etc.
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
74
S
20
G
71
Posts: 2,230
Reputation: 44,892

Post » Mon May 16, 2016 3:28 am

@stachir
It may still be a bug with vsync and the browser on your device. Maybe something along the lines of this bug:
https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/is ... ?id=422000
It references this site to test the vsync of your browser. If frames are never dropped the word "vsync" should look grey, otherwise it will flicker.
http://www.vsynctester.com/
B
92
S
32
G
110
Posts: 5,295
Reputation: 71,501

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 2:11 pm

@R0J0hound
Yes, I noticed some flickering.

According to the preformance graph in test of vsync of my browser, my average inter-frame millisecond time is 17.056. Every second moving picture stops and there is heap on chart out of scale.
I read the article about the VSYNC synchronization test, and the "bug" in chrome 38+ ... it's really frightening.

"Under Windows, Chrome 38+, Firefox 32+, and Internet Explorer DO NOT properly synchronize rendered frames to a display's VSYNC refresh signal".

Honestly, I did not expect that something like this could have happen. How is it possible?
Also, it looks like it is insoluble problem. Please, tell me I'm wrong.
B
22
S
3
G
2
Posts: 30
Reputation: 3,693

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 2:40 pm

Is the hardware in your chrome even enabled ?

chrome://gpu/
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

PreviousNext

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests