[r62] crashed when started in XP/SP2/IE8

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:13 am

I downloaded construct2_62 and installed.
However, when I started it, it ran and crashed, a pop window showed as follows:

"Construct2 (free edition test build) - Start page: Construct2.exe - The Application error"
"0x00448f47" by reference of address "0x00000004". It can't be "read"
Press OK to stop the application
Press cancel to debug

I clear my cache and tried to reinstall the setup file, but the result is the same. I tried 61, 60, 59, .... only 53 is OK.
My system is XP/SP2/IE8/
My pc is Intel celeron 550 2.0G / Ram 2G/ Mobil Intel (R) 965 Express Chipset Family

What might be the problem? I tried many days.
And How can I solve this problem?

Thanks in advance.


Best wishes!
B
1
G
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 485

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:16 am

I guess updating to SP3 could be a good start. Not sure if it is absolutely necessary but it can't hurt to have your OS fully up to date. (and I can assure you C2 works with SP3)

Ashley will be able to tell you more.Kyatric2011-10-16 01:17:13
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:05 am

Yeah, I'm not sure all C2's features work on SP2. Upgrade to SP3 and see if that fixes it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 8:29 am

Thanks for your answering.
However, after I update to sp3, the problem is still the same.
Is there still any solution that I can try?

Best wishes!

B
1
G
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 485

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 8:49 am

I tried again, and I found that
starting from r56, I can't start the software correctly.
Under 55 (included), all the versions are OK.

And I found from r56, the size of the software becomes 9mb larger. Is that because of the updating?

Thanks!

B
1
G
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 485

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:31 pm

Hmm - r56 introduced the new welcome screen. (It's a larger file just because we included more examples.)

You could try disabling it. Open regedit, and open

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Scirra\Construct2\Preferences

Right click the space on the right and select New > DWORD value. Name it HideStartPage, and set its value to 1.

Does that help?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:16 pm

Thanks to Ashley.
It really works.
After I hide the start page, everything goes well.
Thanks.

I tried this software for about 4 days. And I found this software is really very potential. For I used yoyogames game maker for several years and I found construct2 is more user-friendly. However, it seems that the reference books are still in lack. Hope that we can have more detailed reference books.

Anyway, this software is excellent. Thanks for your hard-working.


B
1
G
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 485


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests