[r64]Strange start screen layout

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:19 am

C2 r64; Windows XP SP3; FireFox 7.0.1; ATI Radeon HD 4870
Dual-core E5200 @ 2.5 GhZ; 3,5 Go RAM

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/36472942/construct/bugs/Bug-Start-Screen.png
When I launch "startpage.html" in firefox, it works well.
In C2, at startup it doesn't (check the picture/link).

it's a pity, the startpage looks very good. All praises Ricardo.Kyatric2011-10-24 06:19:59
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:21 pm

What version of Internet Explorer is installed on your system? Construct 2 uses the IE engine to display the start page. We're only supporting IE7+, so maybe you're still on IE6?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,554

Post » Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:40 pm

Oh I see.
Yeah I basicly don't use IE, tried to remove it all the ways I could, so yeah, it's probably some old default version that comes with XP.

Ok then, I'll just remove the startpage from the preferences so that it is not displayed at start.
It's sad, 'cause it looks good in a true browser, but I don't intend to update IE under XP.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:45 pm

You don't have to use IE, just make sure IE8 is installed and it'll use IE8's engine to display the start page. (Edit: said IE9 at first, but that doesn't support XP :P)

I've asked Tom to have a go and see if he can fix it for IE6 though, I'm sure you're not the only one still on IE6. It's a bit of a headache though, IE6 really is crap.Ashley2011-10-24 22:46:26
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,554

Post » Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:51 am

Old thread but same issue here
Any chance you won't be using IE engine in the future?
Or do I really have to install this thing just for the start page
B
20
S
5
G
8
Posts: 325
Reputation: 6,473


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests