[r66] Check failure when changing global var

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:04 am

Not getting the crash here.

AMD Phenom II X2
Windows 7 32-bit
Radeon HD5670
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:32 am

I've tried uninstalling C2, clearing it out from the registry and reinstalling and still it crashes.

Those who are having the crashes what graphics card do you have? I have a nVidia 8800 GT.Nickydude2011-11-08 00:33:25
B
72
S
25
G
9
Posts: 382
Reputation: 10,649

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:41 am

It's unlikely to be related to the graphics card - the event sheet view is software rendered. Only the layout view uses OpenGL and hardware acceleration.Ashley2011-11-08 00:41:43
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:41 am

Mines NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT and i had tried to uninstall and clear registry also. But i wouldn't think the video card would have anything to do with it.
3DGS2011-11-08 00:42:20
B
15
S
1
G
2
Posts: 62
Reputation: 1,696

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:51 am

I didn't think so either but every little helps.Nickydude2011-11-08 00:56:05
B
72
S
25
G
9
Posts: 382
Reputation: 10,649

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:59 am

I tried, and got the same error, then crashed. (just same as Noga)
B
17
S
3
G
6
Posts: 17
Reputation: 4,602

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:44 am

Not getting the crash either here
Windows XP SP3; FireFox 7.0.1; ATI Radeon HD 4870
Dual-core E5200 @ 2.5 GhZ; 3,5 Go RAM

Strangely enough so far, people with Nvidia had a problem, people with ATI didn't. (please if someone with an ATI encounters this problem, say it fast to discard it as a possible cause).

There wouldn't be reasons for graphic cards to have an influence on such a function, but after all this is computing, anything can happen.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:00 am

It could be graphic related. I get errors on both computers, both have nVidia cards.
1. win7, 8800gt
2. vista, 9300m
Now I'm on the second, I've opened Space Blaster and changed Rockets variable to any number, got the same crash as before plus this new one, it says - texture leak
edit - I clicked Abort to get this message
Noga2011-11-08 10:03:04
ImageImage
B
25
S
6
G
8
Posts: 773
Reputation: 6,643

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 am

Maybe it's important or maybe it's not, but although it crashes for me following Noga's directions, generally everything is working great.

The interesting(?) part is that if I add a Global variable, give it a suitable name and description, it doesn't crash, but the description is NOT visible in Event view (which it should) but it does show when accessing the variable from the system parameter selection list. So it would seem that it isn't quite rendering correctly for me, and as Kyatric pointed out, I'm one of those using an Nvidia.

In case it IS anything to do with the gfx card, I'm using the latest GeForce 285.58 driver for my card.zenox982011-11-08 12:19:07
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,843
Reputation: 48,287

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:10 am

[QUOTE=leopb] I've created two files to try explain. First works fine and second crashes when I try to change the event. It crashes even clicking in "ignore".

WorksFine.capx
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/47364609/WorksFine.capx

Crash.capx
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/47364609/Crash.capx

[/QUOTE]

It works here on the 2nd computer, but it didn't work on the 1st, yesterday when I tried it, strange.
ImageImage
B
25
S
6
G
8
Posts: 773
Reputation: 6,643

PreviousNext

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests