[r66] Check failure when changing global var

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:26 pm

Looks like the same error

---------------------------
Construct 2 Check failure
---------------------------
Check failure! This is probably a bug:

Returning NULL event variable

Condition: event_var != NULL
File: Projects\Parameters.cpp
Line: 285
Function: class EventVariable *__thiscall EventParameter::GetEventVariable(void) const
Build: release 66 (32-bit) checked
Component: Construct 2 IDE
(Last Win32 error: 0)

You are using a 'checked' release of Construct 2, intended for testing, which causes certain errors to be reported this way. Hit Ctrl+C to copy this messagebox - it's useful information for the developers, so please include it with any bug reports! Click 'Abort' to quit (unsaved data will be lost!),'Retry' to turn off messages for this session and continue, or 'Ignore' to continue normally.
---------------------------
Abort   Retry   Ignore   
---------------------------
when trying to change a global var with events
and when i try instance i get the same old hard crash with no info.
B
15
S
1
G
2
Posts: 62
Reputation: 1,696

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:35 pm

If I create a global variable and try to set it I get this error :


If I create a sprite add an instance variable, and try to set the variable to 1 on start of layout I get a crash the moment I click


(I know Ash likes my little explanation pics :D)Yann2011-11-08 18:38:07
B
60
S
22
G
14
Posts: 1,479
Reputation: 16,346

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:46 pm

OK, this is a total mystery still, I thought you would see that new debug dialog before the check failure happened. I have no idea how that check failure could happen, it's in code that should not even be called by that point.

I think the best thing to do now is this:
I need a volunteer: someone who's experiencing the problem. I'll need a new user account on your computer with admin permissions, and then enable remote desktop so I can access the machine. I'll need to install some special debugging software so I can diagnose the problem on a machine where this is happening. Obviously you need to trust me with your computer... hopefully you do! I'll do my best to clean up everything I've installed when I'm done, they'll all be official Microsoft tools for debugging.

I think that's the only way to get to the bottom of this quickly - the way things are going now it could be days or weeks. Any volunteers? (Sorry it's come to this, I really think it's the final option.)
Scirra Founder
B
358
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,363

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:48 pm

ok I'm in, come in the chan to explain how to proceed (:

I also have VS studio 2010 if it can be usefullYann2011-11-08 18:49:14
B
60
S
22
G
14
Posts: 1,479
Reputation: 16,346

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:13 pm

Strange case indeed!

Im willing to let you use my computer to run your tests.
May i suggest TeamViewer to establish a safe connection? It's free and it requires no installation, it can be used on the fly.

Unless i was too late and you already did it?TheMightyAtom2011-11-08 21:37:33
B
6
G
2
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1,357

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:52 pm

my computer is all yours, if you have not already figured the problem out. i wanna get back to work :). got me hooked on this program! lol
B
15
S
1
G
2
Posts: 62
Reputation: 1,696

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:04 pm

Yann was kind enough to let me try, but it doesn't reproduce over remote desktop! Argh!

Next I'll try something involving logging. Another build should follow soon.
Scirra Founder
B
358
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,363

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:16 pm

Should have given the already mentioned here and also in chat TeamViewer a try. Rumour has it it does just fine with OpenGL or whatever's on the screen. Perhaps not, but worth a try.
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:25 pm

If you want to give it another try with TeamViewer instead, just call me. :)
B
6
G
2
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1,357

Post » Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:16 pm

Thanks for the offers all, I might give TeamViewer another shot if this doesn't work:
http://www.scirra.com/downloads/releases/construct2-r66-2-tryfix4.exe
This build writes a file called waffles.txt to your desktop as you use it. It's a log of various things happening in the engine.

If you could run the original repro with this build, which is:
- Add a global variable
- Add 'on start of layout' - 'set global variable'
- Set the variable you made to 1
- Click Done - this is where it crashes
Once you've done that, send me your waffles.txt (don't paste it on to the forum, it's probably quite long - try a public dropbox folder). This should include some useful extra info.

Note: if you run it a second time, delete waffles.txt first otherwise it will keep adding to the end of the old file, which is probably confusing.

Hopefully by comparing the log file from my working computer to a log file from one of you with the problem the cause can be isolated relatively narrowly. Thanks for the help so far everyone!
Scirra Founder
B
358
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,363

PreviousNext

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest