[R67] Cannot find project file for animation frame

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:46 pm

---------------------------
Construct 2 Check failure
---------------------------
Check failure! This is probably a bug:

Cannot find project file for animation frame

Condition: FileExists(GetProjectPath().c_str())
File: Projects\AnimationFrame.cpp
Line: 188
Function: void __cdecl AnimationFrame::Load(const class std::basic_string<wchar_t,struct std::char_traits<wchar_t>,class std::allocator<wchar_t> > &)
Build: release 67 (64-bit) checked
Component: Construct 2 IDE
(Last Win32 error: 3)

You are using a 'checked' release of Construct 2, intended for testing, which causes certain errors to be reported this way. Hit Ctrl+C to copy this messagebox - it's useful information for the developers, so please include it with any bug reports! Click 'Abort' to quit (unsaved data will be lost!),'Retry' to turn off messages for this session and continue, or 'Ignore' to continue normally.
---------------------------
Abort   Retry   Ignore   
---------------------------


There are no animation frames for my sprites in this game.

All I did was add about 10 sprites, 8 events, and 12 actions then I saved my game, ran the layout and it crashed, and closed. Now whenever I try to open my game file I get the error above then Construct 2 crashes, and closes.

Here is the .capx I was working on when it happened:

.capx

Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express
Windows 7, 64-bitWink2011-11-10 15:49:28
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:34 pm

I fear that you have to start to create the new project. I had the same problem and nothing worked out creation all over again and I hope that this will not happen again
B
94
S
19
G
34
Posts: 1,840
Reputation: 27,988

Post » Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:47 pm

If you have projects which no longer open send them to us and usually we can fix them (one or two things might have gone missing though).

This bug has cropped up from time to time recently and obviously it's one we really want to fix. However nobody seems to have been able to reproduce it, and I've never seen it on my own computer. This makes it extremely difficult to fix. If you can make a backup of your project and find a sequence of steps that always breaks it, that's great - we can probably fix it immediately if anyone can get it down to that.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:15 pm

Thank you delgado you just helped me fix it.

After reading your post the whole thought of starting over through me into a fit of nerd rage. So first I tried swearing at my computer, and that didn't work. Then I tried violently hitting the retry button a couple of hundred times, and that didn't work. So then I got real mad and swore at my computer while violently hitting the retry button, and I got this error:

---------------------------
Failed to load texture
---------------------------
Error loading texture 'C:\Users\User\AppData\Local\Temp\cap2T8RVY\Animations\Scope\Default\000.png': Failed to read image file data
This may indicate a corrupt PNG file in the project directory. The image will not be able to be displayed in the editor.
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------

Which let me know exactly what was wrong. So then I pressed the ok button, and reloaded that sprite in the error above.

What happened was the sprite had been moved about 600px away from it's image point. So all I had to do then was just reset the image point, and now everything works fine.

From now on I'm going to save copies as I go. But maybe this information might be useful for fixing this bug now that we know that something is causing image points to separate from there sprites.
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:57 am

Wink. My previous project had over 30 sprites and 200 events and i have problem with some animations so i cant do anything, I start a new project ;/ "error loading texture" so now i do many copies of my new project
B
94
S
19
G
34
Posts: 1,840
Reputation: 27,988

Post » Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:07 am

delgado sorry to here that. Why don't you do like Ashley said and send it to him? I think his email is ashley@scirra.com. He said that they usually can fix them. Or just send it to my private message box here, and I will try my new nerd rage technique out on it.

I know I don't have your sprite graphics, or animation's but if I can find all the sprites that were separated form there image points I could just replace them with dummy sprites, and reset there image points. Then all your events would still be there. All you would have to do then is replace all the dummy sprites with the original ones.

Wink2011-11-11 11:39:19
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:42 pm

Its ok i wait for more relases biuld with fixed bugs. I Post a topic, so Ashley knows the situation
B
94
S
19
G
34
Posts: 1,840
Reputation: 27,988


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest