[R70] Export sound bug

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:02 am

I exported my game, and noticed that there seems to be a universal bug for sounds. Basically, as far as I determine, whenever a sound is first played, it has a 3 or so second delay before it actually plays. Subsequent plays of the same sound are OK.

Also, Firefox has a problem with music looping.

As a final note, the very annoying 8-directional bug (where you get 'stuck' in a direction) in chrome still exists.

Thanks, sqiddster

EDIT: I also noticed that if too many of a sound is playing at once, it becomes distorted. Not just in export.sqiddster2011-11-30 08:38:57
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:37 am

Sounds download before playing once you've exported. You might want to use the 'preload' action to start loading it on start of layout or something.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:14 pm

what about firefox music looping problem? I have it too.
B
4
S
1
G
1
Posts: 36
Reputation: 949

Post » Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:19 pm

It's inherent to Firefox itself.
All users of Firefox have the same issue. Audio doesn't loop you have to workaround.

Audio support in HTML5 is a mess, Ashley "composed" (no pun intended) with what he had to propose an audio function anyway in C2.

Audio issues should rather be taken to Mozilla, their bugtracker and any appropriated medium.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:02 pm

So Ashley, am I then correct in saying that sounds do not download while the game is loading?

Even if I preload them on start of layout, there will still be a delay for music, since it would take a while to download.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:36 pm

@sqiddster - yes, sounds are downloaded on-demand and music is streamed, so both have a little latency. Sound effects are cached though so after the first once or twice they've played they should play instantly. People tend to have really huge sound effect files without looking at the filesize so I didn't want that to block the loading screen, especially if you've got your speakers turned off! So it loads them during the game, and you can start the ones you want loading immediately with the Preload action. That doesn't mean they're instantly available, they still have to download first.Ashley2011-11-30 23:37:30
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:23 am

That's OK - certainly better than the alternative of an insanely long loading time ;)
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Mon Dec 05, 2011 1:58 am

I don't know if it's the same bug but I exported a game on my server, tried to play it, everything is fine but I have no backing music nor sound effects. I exported, (sounds are ogg btw) and then uploaded straight to the FTP. I'm using google chrome latest canary. Thanks!

Oh and another thing: everytime I export, then I come back to C2 and I have no sounds at all when I test the game. I have to restart C2 and then I have it back...tomshreds2011-12-05 01:59:58
B
6
G
2
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1,211

Post » Mon Dec 05, 2011 2:03 am

@tomshreds, are there any errors in the browser? Did you set the right MIME types (under 'On your server')?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Mon Dec 05, 2011 2:31 am

I get this inside chrome's console:
Creating Application Cache with manifest http://mydomain.com/game/offline.appcache
Application Cache Checking event
chrome-extension://hdokiejnpimakedhajhdlcegeplioahd/onloadwff.js:608 : CS -> BG : FAILED rebuildcontext
chrome-extension://hdokiejnpimakedhajhdlcegeplioahd/onloadwff.js:609 : CS -> BG : FAILED rebuildcontext
chrome-extension://hdokiejnpimakedhajhdlcegeplioahd/onloadwff.js:6012 : CS -> BG : FAILED rebuildcontext
Application Cache Error event: Manifest fetch failed (404) http://mydomain.com/game/offline.appcache

---

My mime types are IIS's default ones.

EDIT: You were totally right, I added .appcache and .ogg to them and now it's working fine! Thanks!

Thanks!tomshreds2011-12-05 02:36:07
B
6
G
2
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1,211

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests