[r72] Check failure - Animation Frame

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:56 pm

I was trying to one sprite object with multiple images using animation frames. I tested the game a few times and it worked. I added more to the
level and tested the game again, then it gave me an error. I restarted the editor, and it gave me this error:

---------------------------
Construct 2 Check failure
---------------------------
Check failure! This is probably a bug:

Cannot find project file for animation frame
File: C:\Users\Nick\AppData\Local\Temp\cap78QWWY\Animations\wall_corner\Default\000.png
This can indicate project corruption - you may be able to retry/ignore these messages and replace missing images in the project. However, please report this issue to Scirra with the steps you were doing immediately before this problem occurred.

Condition: false
File: Projects\AnimationFrame.cpp
Line: 198
Function: void __cdecl AnimationFrame::Load(const class std::basic_string<wchar_t,struct std::char_traits<wchar_t>,class std::allocator<wchar_t> > &)
Build: release 72 (64-bit) checked
Component: Construct 2 IDE
(Last Win32 error: 2)

You are using a 'checked' release of Construct 2, intended for testing, which causes certain errors to be reported this way. Hit Ctrl+C to copy this messagebox - it's useful information for the developers, so please include it with any bug reports! Click 'Abort' to quit (unsaved data will be lost!),'Retry' to turn off messages for this session and continue, or 'Ignore' to continue normally.
---------------------------
Abort   Retry   Ignore   
---------------------------


After clicking retry, I got this error:

---------------------------
Failed to load texture
---------------------------
Error loading texture 'C:\Users\Nick\AppData\Local\Temp\cap78QWWY\Animations\wall_corner\Default\000.png': Failed to read image file data
This may indicate a corrupt PNG file in the project directory. The image will not be able to be displayed in the editor.
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------

After clicking OK twice, nothing looked right. The corners show up in the game, but not in the editor.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/52788071/Speed%20Ball.capx

System Info:
Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1
Manufacturer: Sony Electronics Inc.
Model: VAIO Computer
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU    M 330 @ 2.13GHz 2.13 GHz
Installed memory (RAM): 4.00 GB (3.67 GB usable)
System type: 64-bit Operating System
B
25
S
8
G
8
Posts: 71
Reputation: 5,307

Post » Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:59 am

This has been reported a lot before but we can't fix it unless we know either:
- steps to reliably reproduce the problem, or
- what you were doing with the "wall corner" object immediately before this happened.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:58 am

I don't know exactly what I did. I just added a little more to the level, and then an error popped up on the preview page, I restarted Construct 2, and then another error.

I have an idea that may help with future bug reporting: Have the editor output actions and errors into a log file.

Is there a way to "un-corrupt" the project file (like rebuilding cache or something), or will I have to start from scratch?
B
25
S
8
G
8
Posts: 71
Reputation: 5,307

Post » Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:54 am

Usually with this error, you can continue to click 'Ignore' until the project loads, then replace the missing frame.

I've tried to load your project, but although I (think) I have the correct plugins - Extra Expressions and REx's Function - it still won't load.

I get:
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,841
Reputation: 48,283

Post » Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:36 pm

Opps, I forgot. I modified the Extra Expressions plugin. Here is the modified version (please do not use it for your own projects):
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/52788071/ExtraExps.zip

It will require more than just replacing the missing frame (which I already did). It just looks messed up:


Edit: I just discovered why it looks messed up. The origin is waaay off center. And some of the wall corner objects have a size of 20.48, 20.48 instead of 64, 64.

Thanks for your help. If this happens again, I'll try to get more information.Zephlon2011-12-19 22:07:15
B
25
S
8
G
8
Posts: 71
Reputation: 5,307


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests