[r74] platform set maximum speed + controlls

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sat Jan 14, 2012 9:38 pm

Hi guys, Im making my game for the rotary competition and i ran into a problem, I need to have a running and sprinting state, simple right? Well no.

I have a variable called PlayerMaxSpeed, Set to 300 normally. When the keyboard button is triggered to sprint is down then im setting it to 600 then invert the same event and set it back to 300. So if keyboard key is down set it to 600, if its not then set it to 300.

But when im sprinting with the right arrow key down, and then i press my jump button it works, The player will jump perfectly.

But if im sprinting with the left arrow key down, and then i press my jump button the player does not jump!!

I tried soooooo many different ways to get this working but nothing. I tried a boolean for is sprinting, set platform vector y, space is down, left is down, and up is pressed. And many other ways that i cannot even remember but nothings working...

And i really need this to work? Any one got a work around?

ps i do not want to share my capx as its my comp entry and its pretty full..

@Ashley any ideas?

B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,849

Post » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:14 pm

Got a .capx made from scratch showing the issue?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Post » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:29 pm

@Ashley

Can I just PM the one im using right now to you?
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,849

Post » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:41 pm

If you have a lot of events it's very very difficult to tell it's not a mistake in your events instead of a bug in Construct 2. So as far as reporting bugs goes, generally entire projects won't even get looked at, you really should reproduce them in a new project to prove it's a C2 bug and not your events.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Post » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:42 pm

Ok i'll try reproduce it without my assets ect.
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,849

Post » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:44 pm

@Ashley there is not that many events. There is currently 60. Its more my idea/art being stolen or copied that im worried about..

Can i email it to you?
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,849

Post » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:47 pm

60 is still too many events. I'm ideally looking for under 10 events. In the past I've spent sometimes several hours picking through a large project only to find it's a mistake in the events, and not a Construct 2 bug. So I really will do anything to avoid debugging large projects, it's a nightmare. You don't need to use any of your artwork, just test sprites is fine.Ashley2012-01-14 22:47:52
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Post » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:53 pm

Ok i striped it to the bare essentials. Most of the events were to make things look pretty. Allot of interpolation ect. removed my top secret rotation code

There is just the controls now. I even removed allot of them really.

Here's the capx - http://dl.dropbox.com/u/51270524/GameStriped%21%21.capx
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,849

Post » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:53 pm

forgot to add a @Ashley
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,849

Post » Sun Jan 15, 2012 9:10 am

@Ashley, did you have the time to check the capx I Posted above??

Here it is again: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/51270524/GameStriped%21%21.capx
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,849

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests