R79.2 and R79.3 bugs

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:05 pm

well
I have a big problem now... my game work fine in my server.
I change the button to enter ( it was a click before ) for "A" key to enter in the game, and "A" to back from the game over layout.
In the game, all OK work fine with arrows.Try to kiss the girls...ehehe
You can try Escola de Ax here :

http://www.escoladeaxe.com/games/2012_02/

When I test in Facebook ( in sandbox mode ) the mouse or keyboard don't work.Nothing.I can't enter the ingame of course.

So, I'm not a programmer ( Thank you Ashley and all people envolved in development of Construct.Is a nice program and open new horizonts for me )
Maybe I had made something wrong in my project, but the fact is , for me, it was
working in realease 78 and I was just fining touch in Facebook object to realease...

The game is about Carnaval, a big party in Brazil,that start tomorrow...
B
31
S
6
G
3
Posts: 67
Reputation: 3,526

Post » Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:30 pm

@Alemar the problem is still the same, when the game is launched in iframe (facebook, scirra arcade, kongregate) the keyboard plugin doesn't work when used with mouse plugin. when NOT in iframe (preview, exported html5 web site) these two work just fine. still waiting for the fix as the latest r79.3 didn't fix it, despite what's written in the release info:

Games in an iframe (Scirra Arcade, Kongregate...) couldn't get keyboard input due to the workaround to the Chrome 'sticky keys' bug - the only solution is to disable the workaround in this case, so iframed games might still get sticky keys - it may be properly fixed by Google in Chrome 18 anyway.

at least I don't know what "the only solution is to disable the workaround in this case" means, if i knew, I would disable it and it would work, right? :) so maybe the real question here is how to disable the workaround (and what IS workaround) to the chrome 'sticky keys'?ranma2012-02-14 23:31:06
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009

Post » Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:38 pm

I deleted and turn off all my mouse plugin.( touch is ON ) but keyboard don't work either in Facebook ... so, keyboards don't work in iframes???
B
31
S
6
G
3
Posts: 67
Reputation: 3,526

Post » Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:20 am

The keyboard object hasn't changed since October, so I can't imagine how the problem is there.

The solution to the Chrome sticky keys issue was to block Chrome handling a left click - this seemed to cause problems with keyboard input, so now the HTML5 game explicitly asks to handle left clicks by itself. However since it blocks the browser action, I think it prevents the iframe running the game from ever getting focus, which means it also never gets keyboard focus so never gets keyboard events (they're probably only sent to the parent frame). I did add code that said if it's in an iframe, let the browser handle the action by itself, in theory letting it work like it did before, but that doesn't seem to have worked for you guys. I'll take another look tomorrow and see if I can get a fix out then.

Sorry for the continuing problems but this all stems from trying to work around that annoying keyboard bug in Chrome - this should never have been an issue, but the workaround to the bug is causing more issues :-\
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:50 am

Here's a quick fix, a new runtime.js for the Mouse plugin:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15217362/mouse-iframefix.zip
This won't affect the Arcade since it uses the original r79.3 runtime, but can you give it a quick spin on a Facebook or Kongregate game and see if it helps? Note the app cache might mean you have to refresh twice (check the browser console for app cache activity).
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:52 am

We should all try construct r78 and the Chrome 18 beta to see if the sticky keys bug is fixed. Then we wont have to use the workaround that is causing so much trouble.
B
31
S
6
G
7
Posts: 140
Reputation: 5,983

Post » Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:04 am

[QUOTE=Ashley] Here's a quick fix, a new runtime.js for the Mouse plugin:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15217362/mouse-iframefix.zip
This won't affect the Arcade since it uses the original r79.3 runtime, but can you give it a quick spin on a Facebook or Kongregate game and see if it helps? Note the app cache might mean you have to refresh twice (check the browser console for app cache activity).[/QUOTE]

that fix helped for kongregate, so I believe it will also make facebook games work, thanks @Ashley you can't imagine my happiness right now :) one thing though, now why use broken runtime on arcade? i understand that it fixes the sticky keys, but i personally believe it's a less of a problem than keyboard not working :)
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009

Post » Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:12 am

@ranma, it's just a quick hotfix and we don't update the Arcade until the next full release. Tomorrow I'll do r79.4 with the fix and the arcade will be updated then. Can anyone confirm that fix works on Facebook too?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:23 am

actually I can and hereby I do confirm, that this fix also works on Facebook iframe apps :)
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009

Post » Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:24 am

Excellent, thanks, r79.4 on the way soon...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

PreviousNext

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests