[r90] Cannot open project after closing

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Jun 04, 2012 2:03 pm

Hello! I saved my project as a .capx only, as it was a test of different things I wanted to implement in to a game i'm creating.

I closed the program/file because I went out, when I came back (the computer wasn't turned off), I tried to open the project .capx and got this error:



It seems to be looking for a temp folder than doesn't exist...

Here is the capx (hosted it on my site, don't want to mess with dropbox).
http://games.ajibo.org/test_summon.capx

Thanks.

-Kuggar

Edit: I did change the texture that it's trying to find to another texture from a different folder about 30 minutes before exiting. PS. The program didn't crash, I actually exited.

I don't mind too much about this, but it was 4 hours of trying and testing and I don't have a copy (the backup has the same error) of the conditions and actions I created, which worked :(Kuggar2012-06-04 14:12:22
B
5
Posts: 5
Reputation: 685

Post » Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:03 pm

I've been doing some detective work :p
First of all here's your fixed project: test_summon_fixed.capx

gatewayexplosion is showing up as gateway& #x1f;explosion in the XML. #x1F is the ASCII code for the Unit Separator which is Ctrl+_

So, you want to name your sprite gateway_explosion but you accidently type [Ctrl Shift -] instead of [Shift -] and you get this dodgy character. Next time you open the file C2 can't read it and gives an error.
ramones2012-06-04 15:05:29
B
54
S
28
G
18
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,020

Post » Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:13 pm

Glad you solved it...here's a couple of things you could have tried..i'm only posting this because it took me ages to compose!

You could try a couple of things depending on what modifications you have made after the crash?

Change the extension of the corrupt capx to '.rar' and open it with Winrar.

1, Create a texture with whatever graphics software you have installed, and save it into the relevent project texture folder, naming it 'gatewayexplosion.png'....then try to run it?

or

2, Check the folder "C:\WINDOWS\Temp" you might find the project in this folder under a different name....or a copy of the missing texture(renamed).

If you can find a copy of the texture in the temp folder(probably renamed)...drag it out out, rename it to 'gatewayexplosion.png'and drop it in the relevent folder in the 'caproj' texture folder.

Hope this helps(and makes sense)
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,205
Reputation: 7,298

Post » Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:23 pm

Thankyou very very very VERY!!!!! much!

I thought I was doomed! I did press http://www.nooooooooooooooo.com/ a few times.

I did look through the XML but the line/column it said the error was on, was wrong it seems! Well it was at least not the root of the problem. Didn't think to look for the words gateway and explosion separately.

Thankeeeee, you're the best :D

Also thankee to chris, also some good ideas! :D
Kuggar2012-06-04 15:31:45
B
5
Posts: 5
Reputation: 685

Post » Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:53 am

Thanks for the detective work @ramones. I had no idea but it turns out our property grid control allows you to type unprintable characters, and that can break things! I've fixed this for the next build so it will never happen again - unprintable characters are removed so they can't break anything. Thanks for the find.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest