[r97] JavaScript audio plugin bug

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:52 pm

When audio is added to a game project with r97, and previewed in Safari for Windows browser I get this JavaScript error, and then a blank screen.



I get the same results previewing in Safari browser with an exported project.

When I remove the audio object the game runs perfect but no audio then.

This can be reproduced by previewing the Space Blaster game in your examples folder, or any game that uses the audio object, with the Safari for Windows browser.


Wink2012-06-30 21:56:00
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:17 pm

This isn't actually a Construct 2 bug but is a stupid problem with the Safari browser. If you don't install Quicktime, Safari completely removes any audio support at all in a way which is not standards compliant, and this breaks any javascript which tries to play audio, which obviously includes Construct 2 games. If you install Quicktime, it works.

Maybe I can add a special alert for Safari for Windows. But it's really not a very good browser for Windows (it's much better on Mac) and I don't think many people use it, so I don't suppose it's important other than to stop scaring people who are testing their games on as many browsers as they can find.Ashley2012-06-30 22:18:18
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:23 am

Thanks Ashley, I just installed Quicktime, and everything works great once again

I wish Safari would let us know of changes like this.

Yes, I agree Safari for Windows never did have very good audio quality, but I just got in the habit of testing, all my games on the 5 most used browsers IE, Firefox, Chrome, Opera, and Safari.
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest