[R99 and Vista Ultimate]Sounds not playing

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:00 pm

Not sure if its a bug or some particularity of his system,but a tester reported to me that sounds arent playing on either Chrome and Firefox on Windows Vista Ultimate.
I found it odd, but did somebody encountered the same problems playing sounds in that OS?
Thank you,

B
38
S
8
G
3
Posts: 438
Reputation: 6,869

Post » Fri Aug 10, 2012 7:22 pm

I'm using R95 on Windows 7, testing in Chrome, and certain background music tracks have stopped playing for me. I've tested a lot, reloading my game with different events disabled and enabled, and I can't seem to pin why they don't play. Sometimes they'll play and other times they won't, and it seems completely random. (I'll reload the same build a few times without changing anything, and sometimes it plays and other times it doesn't).
So, I don't think it's an OS-specific problem, and I don't know what's going on. It's frustrating.
B
18
S
5
G
1
Posts: 95
Reputation: 2,666

Post » Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:46 pm

When this happens, check for errors in the browser (ask your users to do the same and to be sure their browser is up to date.

Also, make sure the mime types for your server are valid.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Fri Aug 10, 2012 11:31 pm

Thank you @Kyatric, Ill check it out
B
38
S
8
G
3
Posts: 438
Reputation: 6,869

Post » Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:32 am

r 99 (64-bit)
IE 9
Win 7 (64-bit)

When I run layout to IE 9, sound works. But if I uploading my game in web and testing, so game working but without sounds.

So, preview game working good, but finally game in web working, but without sounds.

Sound format is .m4a (IE 9). What is the problem? =)

Firefox and Chrome works good (.ogg) every time.
B
10
S
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 2,163

Post » Fri Aug 17, 2012 7:08 pm

Closing as most likely not a C2 bug. Check audio settings and ensure nothing is muted in the sound mixer (since Vista+ can mute individual programs).

If sounds do not play once uploaded, check for browser errors - you most likely have not set the right MIME types on your server.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests