R99 - Saving in CAPX, then in folder

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:45 pm

This is just to maintain a registry

and

You don't have problems with your project.

This is the procedure for the bug

-Start a brand new project.
-Create a tiled background.
-Save the project in folder.
-Close C2.
-Open the project.
-Create another texture.
-Save it in CAPX file.
-Save in folder but on new clean folder, not the first one, for example.

Check the texture folder, it's missing the first texture and there is only the second, added while the software is running.

It missed to import to the CAPX the pre existent textures and saved on the CAPX only the new texture added when you opened it.

Close the project and try to open it again, it will give you an error, telling you it's missing a texture.

Take care about new textures when working with projects in folder, if you save your job in CAPX after importing a new tile object, all the others will be missing on the CAPX and you can lose your project.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
20
G
14
Posts: 1,218
Reputation: 19,500

Post » Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:26 pm

I followed your steps and I could not reproduce any problem. All projects saved OK and opened OK afterwards. Am I missing something?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Post » Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:34 pm

Ashley, the most weird issue, I can't reproduce it anymore.

Today, when I went to my house, reproduced the bug as well, and said, "well, I need to record it to Ashley". Went taking a bath, and later, I started to try reproduce the bug again and it never more occur..

I have two folders, test1, with the first try, missing the texture, and the recorded folder with the texture inside. No idea of why, but it's working well now...

Do you can keep the topic opened? I'll try on another computer and if it happen again I'll stay recording =(

Believe, it's not a bad joke of my part. It's frustrating =\

Edited:

Please watch the entire video, I reproduced it in a long way.

Now I can say, it's random. It's a freak random issue, and can occur on your first save or after hours of hard working, where it will break your folders and if you end saving in CAPX only, you can lose all your job. If you save in folder by the last time, you can just re-import the missing textures and the project will open normally.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s4H_PhR844U

Pew =(TELLES08082012-08-21 00:27:10
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
20
G
14
Posts: 1,218
Reputation: 19,500

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 5:45 am

Very similar thing happened to me in r100.

I could reproduce it like 3 times with blank projects, but when I wanted to reproduce it again to post it here step by step it didn't ocurr anymore.

Was something like:

1. Open new project in folder
2. Add a Sprite
3. Run the project
4. Save as a folder project but in another folder, not the selected in step 1.
5. Close Construct.
6. Open Construct.
7. Open project previously saved in step 4.
8. Run project.
--> Error with the Sprite plugin... Something like "Sprite missing" (I forgot to take a screenshot one of the three times, sorry). I went to the "Animations" folder and there was no sprite, so, for that reason was the error.

Maybe there is a bug with the "Save as folder", and is just difficult to reproduce it several times.

The first time it happened to me was when I was backing up one of my projects and tried to run it. For that reason I tried to reproduce it and I could do it like 3 times with blank projects.

BTW, I don't have any third party plugins installed.
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 148
Reputation: 5,084

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:42 am

This also happens on r100
I can repro this problem over and over, at least on my machine.


One of my project got this problem, to fix this i manualy copy all the missing sprite,
but now everytime i want to "Save As" another project, all images will always missing
(even saving as single file will lost all of my images).


Here's an exact steps to repro on my machine
(you can use different folder if you want to, this is just for the sake of easier testing):

1. Make a folder on C: Drive called it C:\Scirra\
2. Copy this capx from my Dropbox to C:\Scirra\
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/39382262/BUG/SingleFile.capx

3. Open C:\Scirra\SingleFile.capx with C2 [r100]
4. Choose "Save As Project"
5. Browse to C:\Scirra
6. Make New folder inside C:\Scirra and called it Project01, click OK (to save as Project)

7. With file explorer look at these folder:
C:\Scirra\Project01\Animations\Sprite\attack
C:\Scirra\Project01\Animations\Sprite\default

There is no image at all, all image file is missing.

8. also If you double click on the Sprite on the layout to open Edit Image, you'll see all images are also missing
B
34
S
13
G
8
Posts: 134
Reputation: 8,118

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:55 am

doh... i forgot to post the Check Failure info for @Ashley

here is what happen when you try to open the saved project earlier:


---------------------------
Construct 2 Check failure
---------------------------
Check failure! This is probably a bug:

Cannot find project file for animation frame
File: C:\Scirra\Project01\Animations\Sprite\default\000.png
This can indicate project corruption - you may be able to retry/ignore these messages and replace missing images in the project. However, please report this issue to Scirra with the steps you were doing immediately before this problem occurred.

Condition: false
File: Projects\AnimationFrame.cpp
Line: 205
Function: void __cdecl AnimationFrame::Load(const class std::basic_string<wchar_t,struct std::char_traits<wchar_t>,class std::allocator<wchar_t> > &)
Build: release 100 (64-bit) checked
Component: Construct 2 IDE
(Last Win32 error: 2)

You are using a 'checked' release of Construct 2, intended for testing, which causes certain errors to be reported this way. Hit Ctrl+C to copy this messagebox - it's useful information for the developers, so please include it with any bug reports! Click 'Abort' to quit (unsaved data will be lost!),'Retry' to turn off messages for this session and continue, or 'Ignore' to continue normally.
---------------------------
Abort   Retry   Ignore   
---------------------------
Potato2012-08-23 18:25:31
B
34
S
13
G
8
Posts: 134
Reputation: 8,118

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:45 pm

In this case, it's pure random, and providing a CAPX or project folder will not help to reproduce it ~_~

I was thinking these days about memory leaks, and it make more sense than a real bug, because sometimes it work and other times it don't..
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
20
G
14
Posts: 1,218
Reputation: 19,500

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:37 pm

@GamerGon - I followed your steps twice and could not reproduce any issue in r100. It seemed to work fine.

@Potato - I could reproduce a problem every time. Thanks for finding a reliable repro! I've managed to fix it for the next build. It potentially affects both save-as-capx and save-as-folder, so hopefully that's the last of this type of issue...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:55 pm

@Ashley sure, I couldn't do it again neither. It was just to provide a new testimony about this issue and make it visible because it really happened to me. In one of my WIP projects, two times I had to copy manually all the "Animations" folder to the new saved project because all the sprites were missing.

Finally it helped to see what @Potato had to say about it :)GamerGon2012-08-23 19:57:13
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 148
Reputation: 5,084

Post » Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:44 pm

Closed as should be fixed in r101.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests