ragdolls?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Apr 14, 2008 10:11 am

Okay, i'm playing about with physics. I seem to remember seeing some mention about ragdolls on the forum but can't seem to find it now.

Did people get this working?

Thanks.
B
37
S
19
G
18
Posts: 613
Reputation: 10,231

Post » Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:48 pm

You can make your own ragdolls with Create Hinge in the physics actions.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:58 pm

Easiest way is to give the torso the most weight and hinge the arms, legs and head to it.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 391
Reputation: 2,432

Post » Fri Apr 18, 2008 5:06 pm

Someone is developing a comprehensive solution to this in the form of a behavior which should be around soon. :)
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:25 pm

Yay! Also I'm glad Rich is back to regular posting, you were inactive after you returned in the team ;)
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 512
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:18 am

I think Rich is making bendy objects ;)

Well this solves the problem I was having with making a rope.
(Create Hinge wasn't working at all, it just didn't connect the rope segments which were just 3x1px lines with the hotspot on the left and imagepoint "e" at the right (beginning and end). I made a few things and came up with:
"RopeSeg overlaps RopeSeg"
"RopeSeg('rid') = RopeSeg('rid')"
(It probably died here by not defining that I was trying to use two different instances of one object)
"RopeSeg: Set position to RopeSeg (image point "e")"
"RopeSeg: Create hinge to RopeSef (image point "e")"
The result:

A bunch of 3x1px lines lying around the ground. :(
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1,735

Post » Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:59 pm

[quote="Drew Carey":1jxgxcwi]
(It probably died here by not defining that I was trying to use two different instances of one object)[/quote:1jxgxcwi]

Quite likely. Here's an example of ropes made with create hinge that I did a million years ago:

http://www.mediafire.com/?ycbtzlb12nd (Arrow keys to move)

Each rope segment is a separate object though, not instances of the same sprite. Yes, it was a pain in the ass to make. Yes, it is terribly inefficient to do things this way. But it works.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests