Raket - a 2D run and gun platformer

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:23 pm

[quote="Arcticus":2ccgs1s3]i have been unsuccessfully trying to tell people that a few times, normally about breaking up and importing sprite sheets/tilesets in one go

..that is if you're talking about the function i think you are.... if not nevermind :D[/quote:2ccgs1s3]

No, I knew you could do it by cutting up sprite sheets automatically, I just never bothered to place my sprites on a sheet. The thing I just realized was you can select a whole list of files at once and import that way too.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Wed Oct 08, 2008 10:37 pm

[quote="deadeye":mm6kzklz][quote="QuaziGNRLnose":mm6kzklz]so how exactly do you guys have maya at home :lol:[/quote:mm6kzklz]

I got it from school.

Oh look, a stupid box: http://www.fileshack.us/get_file.php?id ... pidbox.cap

I just learned something else... I don't have to import images into sprite frames one at a time. I can just right click on the first frame and hit "Import frames" then select a whole list at once. Why didn't anyone ever tell me this :shock:[/quote:mm6kzklz]

SWEET A STUPID BOX!!!!111
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Wed Oct 08, 2008 10:50 pm

Hehe, made you download my stupid box :P
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Oct 09, 2008 2:32 am



Started on some of the armor and accessories today
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 254
Reputation: 1,958

Post » Thu Oct 09, 2008 12:46 pm

Lookin' sweet mate!

Also, I downloaded the stupid box.

Stupid box is well animated lol.

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:21 am



a little bit more progress -- been busy with other stuff. hope to have a very early alpha version to post soon, but i'll warn it's very barebones and nothing of worth is really implemented yet -- been busy with all sorts of stuff over the past few weeks.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 254
Reputation: 1,958

Post » Sat Oct 18, 2008 9:28 am

here's an early release you can try out -- again, i warn it's very basic as i'm still building the foundation systems for the game. all of the art is placeholder art that will be replaced later. there are no enemies yet. only the MG weapon can shoot right now, but you can change weapons for slot 1 and 2 in the options screen (it'll save your weapon selection and load it next time you run the game).

http://upload.dfyb.net/uploaded/Raket_p ... _0.0.1.zip

[code:3a6hz5ne]move left - A
move right - D
jump - space

double jump - space (while in air)
dash L/R - double tap A/D

shoot - up arrow
toggle weapon slots - right arrow

open/close options screen - O
restart game - R[/code:3a6hz5ne]
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 254
Reputation: 1,958

Post » Sat Oct 18, 2008 1:02 pm

it looks pretty sweet, but you should revise the controls a little, pressing space to jump is a little difficult, maybe set it to W so your hands dont sprawl across the keyboard so much, i have big hands and its annoying for me, i cant imagine what a small handy would feel lol.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:45 pm

[quote="QuaziGNRLnose":30eq0cti]it looks pretty sweet, but you should revise the controls a little, pressing space to jump is a little difficult, maybe set it to W so your hands dont sprawl across the keyboard so much, i have big hands and its annoying for me, i cant imagine what a small handy would feel lol.[/quote:30eq0cti]
yeah i already plan on allowing "W" to be used as jump -- just haven't gotten around to it. i plan on building a control system that lets the user change out their controls completely.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 254
Reputation: 1,958

Post » Sat Oct 18, 2008 8:39 pm

Hmm, not much to report on now, seeing as how it's just the base movement engine. I don't much like the controls the way they're set up, but if you're making a customizable control scheme then that's okay.

And I'm not a fan of the blur, at all. I don't know what it is, maybe it just looks crappy on my machine but motion blurring just never looks right in any game I've ever seen. It's way too choppy.

Here's a screenshot (linked for size).

Is it supposed to look like that? Could someone with a good computer post a screen of what motion blur looks like for them?
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

PreviousNext

Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest