Raket - a 2D run and gun platformer

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Sat Oct 18, 2008 9:01 pm

Woah, that's pretty crazy deadeye. I think its broken for you. Do you get a low framerate?

Motion blur here just looks like a softening of the edges. Motion blur works best when things move really fast. I'm not sure slow-scrolling games like platformers benefit much from motion blur - it does just seem to make sharp graphics look blurry. Games like the rain demo benefit from motion blur - if you move the mouse really fast, there really is a BIG difference between having motion blur on and off. I think you do have to be careful with it though. It is a very resource-consuming way to make your game look blurry :P (5x motion blur = 5x as much work for the GPU!)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sat Oct 18, 2008 9:16 pm

[quote="deadeye":julnvbyo]Hmm, not much to report on now, seeing as how it's just the base movement engine. I don't much like the controls the way they're set up, but if you're making a customizable control scheme then that's okay.[/quote:julnvbyo]
well, it's a bit more than a movement engine -- it's a weapon/character select engine, too :P

[quote="deadeye":julnvbyo]And I'm not a fan of the blur, at all. I don't know what it is, maybe it just looks crappy on my machine but motion blurring just never looks right in any game I've ever seen. It's way too choppy.

Here's a screenshot (linked for size).

Is it supposed to look like that? Could someone with a good computer post a screen of what motion blur looks like for them?[/quote:julnvbyo]
weird..

this is what it looks like to me when dashing (most blur possible in the game atm -- walking around, you're moving slower, you'll have less blur)



here's blur while walking:



but i'm definitely not set on keeping motion blur. once i get more art assets in there (and put in enemies/shooting etc), i'll be tweaking the other options. i think soft motion blur like what you see in my screenshot can be great, but i'll need to make sure it's not having a negative effect on framerate etc. and i'll probably just set it as being optional anyway.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 254
Reputation: 1,958

Post » Sat Oct 18, 2008 10:49 pm

[quote="Ashley":3tl8uagq]Woah, that's pretty crazy deadeye. I think its broken for you. Do you get a low framerate?

Motion blur here just looks like a softening of the edges.[/quote:3tl8uagq]

I have no idea what fps I'm getting for this game but it seems to run at an okay speed. And yeah, every game with motion blur looks like that for me. Even the rain demo, to a certain extent. I wasn't ever really sure if that was how it was supposed to look (which would mean you were all crazy for thinking it looks good... not a completely unwarranted assumption lol jk :P) or if it was just my computer.

I guess it's my computer. Good to know you aren't all crazy. Still, I wish it would work for me :(

[quote="dfyb":3tl8uagq]this is what it looks like to me when dashing (most blur possible in the game atm -- walking around, you're moving slower, you'll have less blur)

[/quote:3tl8uagq]

Ah. Yeah, there's a big difference there. The screenshot I took wasn't even when dashing, it was just plain walking speed.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:28 pm

Am I going to have to make it my personal mission to send deadeye a whole new computer, piece by piece through the mail? I will if I have to!

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:43 pm

i get the same thing as deadeye, and im only gettin about 3 or 4 fps
B
2
G
4
Posts: 35
Reputation: 1,120

Post » Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:53 pm

wow... something's up with the motion blur. is it supposed to increase the number of ticks in a given time period? my dash and other things use private variables that increase each tick, and even with the same framerate, changing the motion blur has a blatant effect on my dash etc. i know i should utilize time delta, but is it supposed to increase the number of ticks in a given time period?
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 254
Reputation: 1,958

Post » Sun Oct 19, 2008 8:59 pm

Yeah, read up on the TimeDelta article. Motion blur works by actually boosting the framerate and drawing, say, 5 screens (for 5x) and merging them each time the screen is updated. So instead of events running maybe 75fps normally, with 5x motion blur it could be 375fps. In this case you have no choice but to use TimeDelta.

I don't think anyone appreciates how important it is! Use TimeDelta! (/goes to put it in sig...)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Previous

Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests