Random Broken Links

If you have found a bug, or have a suggestion/comment then leave it here

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:29 pm

When I click on links(any) on the scirra website, randomly(maybe 5%) I get taken to a different local advertisement website. This is on Scirra website only and has happened to me at both home and work. Is this intensional? Do you have a virus of sorts?
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:32 pm

Hi Bert,

No link should take you to an advertising website. We don't run any adverts on this site at the moment. It sounds like you have adware or a virus on your computer(s).

I recommend you run CCleaner:
http://www.piriform.com/CCLEANER

As well as a full, up to date virus scan, AVG is a free virus scanner:
http://www.avg.com/gb-en/trustav_bt_ppc?ctype=ppc_uk_gs_0002_trustav-test219&wm_crID=8717166&wm_lpID=41240328&wm_ctID=383&wm_kwID=17360838&wm_mtID=3&wm_content=0&wm_g_crID=8250755199&wm_g_kw=AVG&wm_g_pcmt=&wm_g_cnt=0&wm_kw=AVG&wm_sd=1

Let me know if this solves it for you!Tom2011-10-15 16:32:51
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
125
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,922

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:35 pm

Okay. but please understand that this only happens on scirra.com links... meaning no other websites do this on either computers.
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:37 pm

That's very strange behaviour, but I can assure you that we do not have anything on the site that would link to advertisers like that.

If your scans come up with any adware/viruses etc, could you be so kind as to let us know the names of them?

Also, can you remember installing any toolbars etc that might have caused this?
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
125
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,922

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:48 pm

Ash has reminded me I need to remove viglink from the forum (which I have). These should still take you to an expected URL though.
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
125
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,922

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:49 pm

I just ran CCleaner. And this computer already had McAfee running I guess, so I scanned it again, nothing came up.
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:52 pm

It seems to happen on any links, not just forum stuff, for example it just happened when I clicked the link to download the lastest software. But then I go back and click the same link and it works fine.
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2011 5:25 pm

It really does sound like adware, if you go to windows, add/remove programs, do you see anything you don't recognise? Any toolbars for example?
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
125
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,922

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2011 5:33 pm

Sounds like either malware/trojan hijacking, which could be nasty. As no-one else is reporting this issue, and I've never had a problem (other than the odd dead link), the problem must be with your machine.

I have Kaspersky, but even they recommend using Malwarebytes's anti malware free edition from HERE if you think you have a trojan. It's free, so nothing to lose, and it can't hurt :)
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,850
Reputation: 48,301

Post » Sat Oct 15, 2011 6:02 pm

Malwarebytes said 0 infections, I uninstalled a Yahoo & Bing toolbar, so I guess I will see if it still happens.
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 107
Reputation: 2,219


Return to Website Issues and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests